Flavorful Southern Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
While this isn't the best fried chicken I've ever had, it was perfect for what I needed! I was out of eggs and cornstarch and buttermilk (what kind of cook am I?) so that pretty much ruled out all of the other recipes. We tossed them in bbq sauce and dipped in ranch as a football game appetizer. I double dipped between milk/crumb mixture as many reviewers suggested, and there was plenty of breading after fried. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
My son used to say that I cooked the best fried chicken but I think this recipe is better. I think it's the parmesan cheese that makes it so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: North Highlands, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
i finally found this recipe again,its the best recipe i found for fried chicken ever,i use it for frog legs to.thanks for sharing it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
This is my first review of a recipe on this site. This is a great recipe. I have been trying a lot of Fried Chicken recipes and could not get the flavor i was looking for. I used Bisquick instead of flour because i ran out of Flour. That's a man for you. I did not use cut up chicken but rather used chiken breast cut into strips for chicken fingers. I did not have any Onion powder but other than that it was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Case
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
I added crushed red pepper to the flour and the other spices and it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellport, New York, USA
Living In: Blue Point, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
I tried this recipe very helpful but I used 2 eggs scrambled mixed with a little seasoning salt in place of the milk. It helps the mixture turn into a very crunchy, flavorful skin. Also the salt should be at least 1 tsp to give a good southern flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
I thought it was ok, but my son, a chicken lover, absolutely hated it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pomeroy, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
This is a great and very flavorful recipe for fried chicken. I always soak my chicken in salt water first to get the blood out. It make the chicken a lot more aestheically pleasing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennaLynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
Wonderful! I took the advice and boiled first. Chicken was very moist. I also added a little Franks Sauce to the milk to give a little extra kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
I found it very flavorful, but did have to re-dip the chicken in milk and then back in the mixture to get a good coating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States