Flavorful Flounder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
Simply delicious. This was a last minute meal - and I did have to make adjustments and went off the last few reviews, as well. Instead of butter, I used olive oil. I didn't have any Parmesan cheese, used shredded Swiss. No green onions, I just finely chopped a few rings of Yellow onions. Backed off the mayo just a bit, and used fat free sour cream to equal the 3TBSP. Pinch of Herbes de provence, Cooked at 350 for 10 minutes then added the topping along with a bit of Panko breadcrumbs and broiled until lightly browned and OMgosh...... this was a great dish !!! A definite keeper in my MacGourmet cookbook. THANK YOU!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
They were moist and delicious. The taste was good but not as good as I had hoped. I think maybe I would add more lemon and less parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
This was OK, nothing spectacular, but did it's job of making plain white fish not as boring. I prefer something with a bit more zing. I liked that it was a quick easy way to make this fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
Followed the recipe exactly, except for grilling. I broiled it...my filets were incredibly thin, so it didn't take long. My only issue was with the fish itself...I can't get a decent selection of fresh and frozen just never tastes as good. But the flavors of the topping helped a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
I Brushed the lemon juice on top and then sprinkled Old Bay seasoning and left it sit for about half an hour while I got the other food ready. Then prepared the rest as written except I did sprinkle bread crumbs on top. I didn't BBQ but put it in the oven for 15 minutes at 400*. This was delicious. The Parmesan cheese and mayo combination was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Swift Current, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
I'm tough on taste so I give this a high 3. No doubt it was good, but did not register a "moment" with each bite. I rate few things a five, very few, so take my rating with that in mind. No reason to do on a grill as I'm sure the stove works just as well, perhaps with less work depending on who is cooking. My flounder was fresh caught the morning of the dinner, so it was especially fresh. I split the topping and in one put lemon and a touch of lime zest with some of its juice. I think the toppings with the zest was better as citrus always goes with fish. All in all, I still would rather have a tartar sauce with my fish than this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
Oh my goodness this is so delicious and easy!! It was raining, so I decided to bake it in the oven instead (350 for 10-12 minutes) then spread the cheese mixture and baked for another 5 minutes. It is sooooo good. Thank you. I served it with brown rice and broccoli, so the extra mixture went great on these too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I just made it for the first time as written. Just substituted onion powder for onion. Baked for 20 minutes and broiled for 5. It was absolutely delicious. So happy to have found a recipe that makes flounder taste good and not bland. Thank you Tammy for a great one !! Make it again last night. Both my husband and son loved it. Made it with the great mac and cheese recipe I found on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by di0823

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
I omitted the parmesan because I don't normally have any on hand. I use minced jarred garlic and mix it in a bowl with the lemon juice, mayo and skip the salt. Then I take dried bread crumbs (all you need is a loaf of bread's ends and toast it then run it through a bullet mixer) and put that on top of the mayo mix. I probably use a lot less than 1/4 cup butter - probably half that and top with 1-2 tablespoons of green onions and caramelized onions if I have any. This stuff tastes great with brown rice! The recipe definitely needs the garlic and some black pepper to offset the fishy taste. Otherwise, a great recipe! I've done this with frozen or defrosted cod as well, with great results - oven temp at 350 for 20-30 minutes, depending on how frozen the cod is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
Husband said it was the best fish ever, and asked for seconds. (There weren't any!) It was very delicious--the Parmesan cheese really made the dish! It was our first time grilling fish, and we weren't disappointed. We'll definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 291) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States