Flavorful Beef Stir-Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 8, 2007
I really enjoyed this recipe. I doubled the sauce (did the white wine version) and added 2 tsps minced garlic and 1/2 tsp ground ginger to the veggies (personal preference). The veggies I used: broccoli, carrots, peas, celery, bean sprouts, bamboo shoots and water chestnuts. I always have to cook water chestnuts a little longer than recipes state - I still like them crispy, but they need a little extra time imo. I also let it all simmer together for a few minutes at the end. The sauce was thick and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I love this recipe! Super fast. I made my own few adjustments though: I seasoned the meat before cutting it up and soaking it for about 5 minutes in soy sauce (only 5 tblspoons), sugar, water, red pepper flakes, and garlic. I then took the meat out of the sauce, added the cornstarch (only 1 tblspoon), then cooked the meat in half of the sauce. I then added my veggies (used the frozen kind in the bag), covered, and simmered the dish for about 4 minutes. I then added the rest of the sauce and let it sit for a little bit. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
I used the apple juice because I didnt have the other two options. I wasnt sure about using it at first becuase I dont like fruit with meat but you couldnt taste the apple juice after it was cooked at all. I also used flour instead of cornstarch and it turned out great. The whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
HINT: How to thin slice meat for this kind of dish. Put it in the freezer for a few hours (check often) and when it's partially "stiff", it's time to slice. Much easier than with fresh meat. Hope it helps?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by N K Thoms

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
Really liked the sauce!! I followed the advice of others and used half the sauce, minus the cornstarch, to marinate the steak for a few hours. Then doubled the sauce to cook the meat and then added the cooked veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jess

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
Very much like I make it but where's the seasoning? Since I discovered Penzey's '5 Chinese Spice' my stir-fry has been out of this world. I usually make stir fry out of left over steak; that way I get two meals out of one steak! And Basmati rice is so much better than plain white rice; more protein and so much more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lamoni, Iowa, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
This isn't heavily seasoned but I liked that - I want to taste the beef tenderloin I used and I wanted to actually taste all those wonderful fresh vegetables. Didn't use the sugar at all, and reduced the soy sauce by a third, replacing it with beef broth to compensate. Instead of white wine, apple juice or water I used rice wine (mirin). I added just enough of that mixture to coat the meat and reserved the rest to add to everything at the end. As the submitter suggested, I included a variety of vegetables to use what I had in the fridge - mushrooms, yellow and green bell peppers, onions, zucchini and yellow squash. I added fresh, minced garlic to the vegetables as well. I love stir fries. First of all, they taste good. And if you're careful not to use too much oil, if you have a little piece of meat in the freezer (1/2 pound serves me and Hubs with leftovers) and a few vegetables in the fridge, you can put together a nice, nutritious meal in less time than it takes to cook the rice. (I have to confess I don't care for pea pods, carrots or water chestnuts, explaining why I had none of them laying around to use)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by JEANSB
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
I made this last night with red wine as the liquid for the sauce and the addition of tri-color bell peppers...wonderful, fast, easy, adaptable recipe! The kids and husband all loved it. I'll be making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEANSB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ripley, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
This is a great recipe. I also doubled the sauce. Next time might even triple it so that there is more to drizzle over rice or noodles. I also used garlic with the veggies. Instead of pork I used pork tenderloin as that's all I had on hand and marinated it in half the sauce for about an hour. It was great. You really can't go wrong with this recipe. Its definately a keeper. Also, I added a teaspoon of oyster sauce to the sauce and it was really great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
Very good basic stir-fry recipe that you can easily alter to suit your tastes or ingredients on hand. I used Sherry as that's all I had and it tasted great. Also, if you like your dishes a little more seasoned-up, you may want to add some cracked black pepper and some red pepper flakes like I did. Very good and I'll put this one into my regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAF1969

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States