Flavorful Beef Stir-Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 8, 2007
I really enjoyed this recipe. I doubled the sauce (did the white wine version) and added 2 tsps minced garlic and 1/2 tsp ground ginger to the veggies (personal preference). The veggies I used: broccoli, carrots, peas, celery, bean sprouts, bamboo shoots and water chestnuts. I always have to cook water chestnuts a little longer than recipes state - I still like them crispy, but they need a little extra time imo. I also let it all simmer together for a few minutes at the end. The sauce was thick and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I love this recipe! Super fast. I made my own few adjustments though: I seasoned the meat before cutting it up and soaking it for about 5 minutes in soy sauce (only 5 tblspoons), sugar, water, red pepper flakes, and garlic. I then took the meat out of the sauce, added the cornstarch (only 1 tblspoon), then cooked the meat in half of the sauce. I then added my veggies (used the frozen kind in the bag), covered, and simmered the dish for about 4 minutes. I then added the rest of the sauce and let it sit for a little bit. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
I used the apple juice because I didnt have the other two options. I wasnt sure about using it at first becuase I dont like fruit with meat but you couldnt taste the apple juice after it was cooked at all. I also used flour instead of cornstarch and it turned out great. The whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
HINT: How to thin slice meat for this kind of dish. Put it in the freezer for a few hours (check often) and when it's partially "stiff", it's time to slice. Much easier than with fresh meat. Hope it helps?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by N K Thoms

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
Really liked the sauce!! I followed the advice of others and used half the sauce, minus the cornstarch, to marinate the steak for a few hours. Then doubled the sauce to cook the meat and then added the cooked veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jess

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
Very much like I make it but where's the seasoning? Since I discovered Penzey's '5 Chinese Spice' my stir-fry has been out of this world. I usually make stir fry out of left over steak; that way I get two meals out of one steak! And Basmati rice is so much better than plain white rice; more protein and so much more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lamoni, Iowa, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
This isn't heavily seasoned but I liked that - I want to taste the beef tenderloin I used and I wanted to actually taste all those wonderful fresh vegetables. Didn't use the sugar at all, and reduced the soy sauce by a third, replacing it with beef broth to compensate. Instead of white wine, apple juice or water I used rice wine (mirin). I added just enough of that mixture to coat the meat and reserved the rest to add to everything at the end. As the submitter suggested, I included a variety of vegetables to use what I had in the fridge - mushrooms, yellow and green bell peppers, onions, zucchini and yellow squash. I added fresh, minced garlic to the vegetables as well. I love stir fries. First of all, they taste good. And if you're careful not to use too much oil, if you have a little piece of meat in the freezer (1/2 pound serves me and Hubs with leftovers) and a few vegetables in the fridge, you can put together a nice, nutritious meal in less time than it takes to cook the rice. (I have to confess I don't care for pea pods, carrots or water chestnuts, explaining why I had none of them laying around to use)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by JEANSB
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
I made this last night with red wine as the liquid for the sauce and the addition of tri-color bell peppers...wonderful, fast, easy, adaptable recipe! The kids and husband all loved it. I'll be making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEANSB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ripley, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
This is a great recipe. I also doubled the sauce. Next time might even triple it so that there is more to drizzle over rice or noodles. I also used garlic with the veggies. Instead of pork I used pork tenderloin as that's all I had on hand and marinated it in half the sauce for about an hour. It was great. You really can't go wrong with this recipe. Its definately a keeper. Also, I added a teaspoon of oyster sauce to the sauce and it was really great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
Very good basic stir-fry recipe that you can easily alter to suit your tastes or ingredients on hand. I used Sherry as that's all I had and it tasted great. Also, if you like your dishes a little more seasoned-up, you may want to add some cracked black pepper and some red pepper flakes like I did. Very good and I'll put this one into my regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAF1969

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States