Flatlander Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Bret Combest Jr.
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Great! I got second in my Chili. Cook-off at work. Only to be beat by a white chicken Chili... So technically I won of all the red chili's :p
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bret Combest Jr.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Really like this recipe. I've grown up making chili and I always cooked the onions, celery and bell pepper until it was tender before adding the rest. In the fall it's fun to roast a hatch pepper and peel it and dump it into the chili. It doesn't increase the heat that much. I also experiment with different chili powders. We really like chipotle chile flavor. I love club crackers in my chili and my husband says no way. Well we both can eat chili for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Great recipe. We always have cornbread with lots of honey with our chili. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ponca City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
We've made this several times for ourselves and company. It's a hit every time. The only change we make is we sub in sauce for the juice and diced for the sauce. It's good after 1.5 hours but even better when it cooks longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
This is a good, basic chili recipe. It makes a ton of chili though. It was more than a family of four could eat in a few days with the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
This is by far the easiest and one of the best Chili recipes I have used. My entire family loves it and ask to make for all football games.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Recipe is PERFECT the way it is. We LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wakeman, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
Best chili recipe (and I've tried quite a few). I had to improvise with ingredients on hand: 16 oz tomato sauce, 8 oz can of seasoned diced tomatoes, and 1 can of Dr. Pepper (my husband drinks the stuff by the case). Everything else as listed. I also premix all the dry herbs in a small bowl before adding to the main mixture. I prepared it in my slow cooker and let's just say the batch didn't make it till dinnertime. After my boys caught a whiff aout 3 hours in, they were dishing themselves out bowls, and it was all gone before dinnertime. Next time I'll double the batch. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
Excellent. Picky children love it. Very basic you can adjust it to your preference. My daughter who does not ask for recipes or home makes anything requested this recipe from me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
For a spur of the moment decision this came out great! I tweaked it a little based on what I had handy, halving the recipe (I'm one person...I can't eat chili for 10 days..) and adding diced tomatoes with jalapanos in place of the tomato juice. I like my chili more solid than soupy :) Used leftover frozen onions (didn't measure) and green peppers (didn't measure those either) and left out the celery because I didn't have any. Came out great though--easy recipe to remember the next time I'm in the store and an older gentleman says "Today is football day!!" and I think to myself..hey...chili sounds good! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Brown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,369) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Flatlander Chili

See how to make a simple, satisfying ground beef chili with red beans.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States