Flatlander Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
It has never occurred to me to add cumin and oregano to chili, great idea! I did use diced tomatoes and a bean mix. I let the meat, onion, spices and tomato simmer for awhile then add the other veggies and beans in the last half hour. Also sautéed 2 cups of mushroom and added with the veggies. I'm not sure what chili powder in the states is like, but here in Australia if you added 1/4o cup it would be inedible..!season to taste :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
I just won a chili cook-off with this recipe! I followed it pretty close. I added 1/4 cup corn meal and diced 2 anaheim peppers, but otherwise it was the original recipe using ground venison for the burger. Very pleased! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Has a great flavor to start with and is very easy to adjust to your personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Loved it! Followed the recipe as shown and it's my favorite chili recipe to date.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minz29
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Just a tad less chili powder (our preference). The rest was awesome as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
delicious chili. I left out the cayenne pepper because it's too spicy for me otherwise followed to the letter. my mother's chili is similar except she uses brown sugar instead of white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
I made two batches, one as is, and one minus the sugar and meat and added black beans, I did add garlic and used less tomato juice (not sure exact amount?) just because we like it a little thick. I also cooked in the slow cooker for convenience. Everyone loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bret Combest Jr.
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Great! I got second in my Chili. Cook-off at work. Only to be beat by a white chicken Chili... So technically I won of all the red chili's :p
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bret Combest Jr.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Really like this recipe. I've grown up making chili and I always cooked the onions, celery and bell pepper until it was tender before adding the rest. In the fall it's fun to roast a hatch pepper and peel it and dump it into the chili. It doesn't increase the heat that much. I also experiment with different chili powders. We really like chipotle chile flavor. I love club crackers in my chili and my husband says no way. Well we both can eat chili for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Great recipe. We always have cornbread with lots of honey with our chili. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ponca City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
We've made this several times for ourselves and company. It's a hit every time. The only change we make is we sub in sauce for the juice and diced for the sauce. It's good after 1.5 hours but even better when it cooks longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,376) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Flatlander Chili

See how to make a simple, satisfying ground beef chili with red beans.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States