Flatlander Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Good recipe. Because of the other reviews, I used 1 29 oz can of tomato sauce, 1 29 oz crushed tomatoes, and 14.5 oz can of petite diced tomatoes. I used 3 T chili powder instead of 1/4 cup. Thought it was a bit spicy, so next time I will use 2 T of chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Made it exactly like the recipe. Amazing,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
I have used this recipe for a few years now and it is an excellent recipe. The only thing I change is that I use ground turkey instead of beef (and use only 1 lb) and 4 cans of various kinds of beans because I love beans. Otherwise I keep everything the same, love it!!! I also make it in the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
First time making chili. It was awesome!!! My boyfriend said it was the best chili he ever had. And he loves chili. I did use 2 1/2 pounds of ground turkey instead of the beef. I also used 2-29oz cans of tomato sauce and 1-28oz can of diced tomato. I left out the tomato juice and celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
My husband won't let me make any other kind! He has made this for his lodge and never has any left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roosterlady

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
I used brown sugar instead of white, and used bush's red chili beans in mild sauce in the place of red beans for the added flavor and it came out delicious! Five stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Thank you for a great recipe. This was my first time making chili. I added a little sausage and 1/4 cup cornmeal to thicken. I will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lbofficegal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
I make this for every occasion, it's fantastic. Around Halloween, I add a can of pumpkin purée and a few dashes of pumpkin spice, I've also added fresh mango to create a mango chili for a luau. No matter what I do, it comes out fantastic. I HIGHLY recommend it, everyone begs me for my recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
This was my first time making chilli and it was a success. Both my boyfriend and his roommate kept commenting on how good it was. We poured it over Fritos and added some cheese and it was delicious! At first I thought it would be too liquidy but it thickened up once we put it in out bowls. I did do things a little differently- I almost doubled the beans by adding two 15oz cans of red beans due to my fear of it being too watery and it worked out great. My boyfriend normally hates beans but he still loved it. I also cooked everything on the stove for the first 15-20 minutes and then transferred it to a crockpot on high for the next 2 hours. Worked out so I am happy! When everyone is in a food coma after eating your meal, you know you did something right ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stefeni Moreau

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
Really good basic chili. Perfect for kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,352) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Flatlander Chili

See how to make a simple, satisfying ground beef chili with red beans.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States