Flatlander Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
I made this tonight. Used the website to adjust to use 1lb of beef (we are a family of 2) this is roughly half the recipe. I used 1 can of tomato sauce, and added water towards the middle of cooking to adjust the consistency as needed. I also used a can of pinto beans instead of red beans because thats what i had in the house. I served it on spaghetti with a spoonful of sour cream and some grated cheddar cheese. It was very very good and I am looking forward to leftovers tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I stupidly messed with the serving size- cut it in half and it wasn't nearly as good as it was when I made it using the correct measurements!! Won't be making that mistake again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Best chili ever!! Im new to cooking so I was a little nervous on how it'd turn out and it was amaazing. I just add a little more cumin, chili powder and blended fresh tomatoes for the tomato juice as well, left it a little chunky. Yummmmy. Making another batch right now only half the size this time. :) and I NEVER write reviews so that alone makes a statement:) thanks a ton!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Won the office chilli cook off with this one. Added a 28 oz can of stewed tomatoes and used 2 15 oz cans of black beans instead of the kidneys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
This is the easiest chili recipe I have ever tried. It is also the best. I have made if just the way it is written lots of times. Always a hit. Serve it with peppers, sour cream and cheese on the side for those who wish it. My grands come over with their friends every time I make it. Thanks for a favorite keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Made this recipe and used ground bison in place of beef. Also added half a pound of mild chorico sausage and bumped the cayenne pepper up to 1/2 Tsp. Amazing turn out. 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
This is my family's favourite chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seaforth, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I won a chili cook off with the recipe a few years ago! If you like spice add a chopped jalapeno for an additional kick. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauren
Photo by knockout
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I left out the tomato juice, I thought the sauce was enough tomato flavoring once it boiled. The chili turned out great! I used shredded mild cheddar cheese, sour cream, and chopped green onions for toppings. It definitely doesn't take a whole hour to simmer before it is ready to eat. I made a bowl after 20 minutes, but I stir fried the onions, green peppers, and celery before mixing all the ingredients so they were done before hand which saved some time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
This is my first time making chili with a recipe. Usually I cook and taste and add as I go. I put my trust in the author and I wasn't disappointed. The only place I didn't follow the recipe is with the green peppers. I didn't have any to put in. From past experience, I would have loved them in here. I would probably compare this to a pretty good restaurant chili with some heat, but not a lot. I've also never made chili before without some tomatoes in it. I will probably use this again when I'm serving for those afraid of the tomato monster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langdon, North Dakota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,314) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Flatlander Chili

See how to make a simple, satisfying ground beef chili with red beans.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States