Flatlander Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Made this recipe and used ground bison in place of beef. Also added half a pound of mild chorico sausage and bumped the cayenne pepper up to 1/2 Tsp. Amazing turn out. 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
This is my family's favourite chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seaforth, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I won a chili cook off with the recipe a few years ago! If you like spice add a chopped jalapeno for an additional kick. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauren
Photo by knockout
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I left out the tomato juice, I thought the sauce was enough tomato flavoring once it boiled. The chili turned out great! I used shredded mild cheddar cheese, sour cream, and chopped green onions for toppings. It definitely doesn't take a whole hour to simmer before it is ready to eat. I made a bowl after 20 minutes, but I stir fried the onions, green peppers, and celery before mixing all the ingredients so they were done before hand which saved some time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
This is my first time making chili with a recipe. Usually I cook and taste and add as I go. I put my trust in the author and I wasn't disappointed. The only place I didn't follow the recipe is with the green peppers. I didn't have any to put in. From past experience, I would have loved them in here. I would probably compare this to a pretty good restaurant chili with some heat, but not a lot. I've also never made chili before without some tomatoes in it. I will probably use this again when I'm serving for those afraid of the tomato monster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langdon, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
I almost didn't review because, what's one more 5 star rating, right? BUT! It really is as good as they say. Make it as directed. Tweak to your heart's content. It will turn out splendid, no matter what you do. My family loves this one, from the 34 year old to the 5 year old. Only pizza gets more raves. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Miner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
I have made this recipe about 5 times now, exactly how the recipes is, with no substitutions and my family and friends love the flavor of it! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
I did enjoy this chilli. It was quick and easy with ingredients I generally have around the house. After a few goes, I decided to try something new. I followed the recipe with 3 changes that made a difference to me. I added an extra cup of beans (because I love beans). Then I added a tbsp of freshly ground coffee and a tbsp of unsweetened cocoa powder. Now this chilli isn't just good. This chilli is killer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I made it exactly as the recipe calls out the first time. It is a hearty chili with a small amount of heat. The second time I made it, I hollowed out one jalapeno and chopped it up finely and added it. It gave the chili some more flavor without adding a lot of extra heat, which satisfied a wide range of guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
This recipe is so easy and so delicious! Don't worry about measuring the veggies exactly, I always put in whatever I have left over in the fridge and it's perfect every time. The only substitution I make is instead of the cayenne pepper, I put in 1-2 jalapeño, deseeded and deveined. I add back seeds depending on my audience. I've made this different ways...as written and also browning and draining the meat then mixing all ingredients in the crockpot and leaving it on Low all day (6 hours). Both were perfect and guests always asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Medford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,379) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Flatlander Chili

See how to make a simple, satisfying ground beef chili with red beans.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States