Flatlander Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
This is my "go to" chili recipe. It's a Wendy's type of chili. Just much better! Prepared as written first time. Excellent! (I now cut the cayenne pepper down a smidge...personal preference.) Thanks, George!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
This recipe is fantastic! So many people ask me to make this when I invite them over for dinner. I didn't change a thing besides letting it simmer in a slow cooker on low for 4 hours rather than in a pot on the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PITA526

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
We used this recipe as the base for a veggie chili by using tvp instead of the beef and it turned out great. A few changes included heaping and doubling the spices (minus salt and sugar) and adding extra beans. Added extra veggies and used fresh garlic (2 cloves) in place of the garlic powder. I know, significant changes, but the basic elements are in place in this recipe and the tomato bases were in good amounts and the directions simple. Have saved the recipe and will do it again (maybe adding some canned/stew tomatoes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
Easy and super-good. Like many others, I switched out tomato sauce for the tomato juice, and diced tomatoes for the tomato sauce. Other than that, followed it to the letter. Really, really good. My husband had THREE servings last night, and then took the balance to work for lunch today. A bonafide keeper and hit. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
8/25/14 used ground turkey and canned tomatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corte Madera, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Best chili Ever!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
We make this chili several times a year and it is always a hot with our family and kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
I make this chili about once a month. I love it as is (aside from the fact that I add way more cumin and cayenne pepper.) but it really adds to the flavor when I add chili beans instead of normal kidney beans. I also omit the celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IceCreamCaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
This recipe is wonderful! It is always a big hit with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Keizer, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
This recipe is really good! I didn't have tomatoes juice or tomato sauce so I just used red beans and diced tomatoes I didn't drain the tomatoes but did drain the beans. I added a bullion beef cube as well but this did turn out awesome :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,367) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Flatlander Chili

See how to make a simple, satisfying ground beef chili with red beans.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States