Flatlander Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2015
Flatlander Chili Haiku: "It's a mystery. Same as 'It's Chili by George!!!' with little changes." Made this a few weeks ago w/o noticing it being near identical to another AR chili recipe that I've already had. Oh well. This was good, not outstanding. Would make it again w/o the tomato juice; just too liquidy for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2015
Husband really liked this chili. I would have liked it a little spicier, but I went easy because he and the kid don't like spicy. I always choose the lower sodium option when getting ingredients. I screwed up and didn't have the tomato juice. Thought about putting in lower sodium V8, but decided to put in a small can of tomato paste and a carton of lower sodium beef broth instead. Put in a little less than 1/4 cup chili powder, knowing I could add more later. Used 3 cans lower sodium kidney beans, rinsed well. I didn't add any salt. Let it cook, and toward the end I tasted & made some adjustments. Put in a bit of ancho chili powder (for a little smokiness), paprika, some more garlic powder, and some beef Better Than Bouillon. Husband had three bowls, and had some for lunch today. ~~~ Thanks for sharing the recipe -- I'll probably make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
My family loves it! It's a huge hit. I use turkey meat sometimes and tastes just as good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
It has never occurred to me to add cumin and oregano to chili, great idea! I did use diced tomatoes and a bean mix. I let the meat, onion, spices and tomato simmer for awhile then add the other veggies and beans in the last half hour. Also sautéed 2 cups of mushroom and added with the veggies. I'm not sure what chili powder in the states is like, but here in Australia if you added 1/4o cup it would be inedible..!season to taste :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
I just won a chili cook-off with this recipe! I followed it pretty close. I added 1/4 cup corn meal and diced 2 anaheim peppers, but otherwise it was the original recipe using ground venison for the burger. Very pleased! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Has a great flavor to start with and is very easy to adjust to your personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Loved it! Followed the recipe as shown and it's my favorite chili recipe to date.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minz29
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Just a tad less chili powder (our preference). The rest was awesome as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
delicious chili. I left out the cayenne pepper because it's too spicy for me otherwise followed to the letter. my mother's chili is similar except she uses brown sugar instead of white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
I made two batches, one as is, and one minus the sugar and meat and added black beans, I did add garlic and used less tomato juice (not sure exact amount?) just because we like it a little thick. I also cooked in the slow cooker for convenience. Everyone loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,379) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Flatlander Chili

See how to make a simple, satisfying ground beef chili with red beans.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States