Flat Iron Steaks Marinated in Red Wine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
We really loved this marinade! I used it to marinade the flat iron steak to use in the "Flat Iron Steak and Spinach Salad" from this site". Will use again especially for that recipe. We marinated it for about 5 hours and it had just the right amount of flavor, not too strong and not too mild. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATTSBELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
Very good, had some relatively good merlot handy, used Montrea Steak Seasoning. I will definately use again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Excellent. We used the George Forman grill to cook the steaks. Wouldn't change a thing and got two thumbs up from the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
This was a wonderful recipe for steak. It was easy to prepare and the results were great. I substituted the powdered mustard with classic yellow mustard, and it worked well, both in the marinade and for the topping. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annikat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bossier City, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Granbury, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
Excellent flavor. Easy to make. I made this recipe just as it appears on all recipes with the exception that I mixed everything in the bag (no extra dirty bowl). Marinated the steak for a little over 1 hour, and sliced it against the grain. We are ketchup and Hienz 57 people and neither of these condiments were necessary. Which is very unusual for us. Definitely a keeper. I served it with sliced tomatoes out of our garden and homemade potato salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Flavor was fantastic! I've become a real fan of this cut of steak and this recipe is so easy to make. Don't overcook and then make 1/4" cuts at an angle fur succulent tender steak. Leftovers reheat very well for a great treat the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morgan TN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
WONDERFUL! Used this marinade for strips steaks and they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bethsanchez23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
LIZCANCOOK--- I haven't yet tried this recipe...however, it is on my to eat list this weekend. Using a meat thermometer or simply cutting a slit on top of the steak and taking a peek would have given a good clue as to the "doneness" of the steak. The 4 minute per side was I'm sure relative to the heat source (medium high heat to me is probably different to what you consider medium high). A good rule of thumb is NEVER take cooking times stated in any recipe as gospel. Use your eyes and a meat thermometer the next time to avoid an under cooked piece of meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pekin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mossville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Really good, so tender and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackies Recipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barbourville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Princeton, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
This steak was tender and flavorful. I often use wine/olive oil marinades, throw in a few herbs an viola! I didn't measure the mustard, and am sure I used at least 1-1 1/2 tsp. I also used a couple of T. of olive oil and threw in a few shakes from the Spike bottle. I started with a frozen flat iron steak and marinated for 4 hours, grilled on a fairly hot BBQ grill for 5-6 minutes each side, sliced thinly. It was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOMEBUNNY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marysville, Washington, USA
Living In: Blaine, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Marinated Flank Steak

See how to make a delicious marinade for flank steaks.

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Chef John’s Grilled Lamb Steaks

Grilled marinated lamb dressed with a minted honey and sherry vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States