Flat Iron Steaks Marinated in Red Wine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
We really loved this marinade! I used it to marinade the flat iron steak to use in the "Flat Iron Steak and Spinach Salad" from this site". Will use again especially for that recipe. We marinated it for about 5 hours and it had just the right amount of flavor, not too strong and not too mild. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATTSBELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
This was a wonderful recipe for steak. It was easy to prepare and the results were great. I substituted the powdered mustard with classic yellow mustard, and it worked well, both in the marinade and for the topping. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annikat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bossier City, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Granbury, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
I marinated the steak for at least 4 hours and it didn't acquire much of the marinade taste, but when finished grilling it was good and tender.I will probably use this recipe again. It was not the best that I have ever made, but is easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
Very good, had some relatively good merlot handy, used Montrea Steak Seasoning. I will definately use again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
Excellent flavor. Easy to make. I made this recipe just as it appears on all recipes with the exception that I mixed everything in the bag (no extra dirty bowl). Marinated the steak for a little over 1 hour, and sliced it against the grain. We are ketchup and Hienz 57 people and neither of these condiments were necessary. Which is very unusual for us. Definitely a keeper. I served it with sliced tomatoes out of our garden and homemade potato salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Flavor was fantastic! I've become a real fan of this cut of steak and this recipe is so easy to make. Don't overcook and then make 1/4" cuts at an angle fur succulent tender steak. Leftovers reheat very well for a great treat the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morgan TN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I really, really did not like this recipe. The marinade and brush-on at the end did not enhance the meat at all. And 4 min/side left our 1-1/2" steaks purple rare inside (and to John W: that IS how I found out the steak was underdone. I'm warning others to check before they take the steaks off the grill...).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
WONDERFUL! Used this marinade for strips steaks and they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bethsanchez23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
Easy ingredients to pull together for a marinade and while it did keep our Flat Iron Steaks tender, it did nothing to add flavor. Won't try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
This steak was tender and flavorful. I often use wine/olive oil marinades, throw in a few herbs an viola! I didn't measure the mustard, and am sure I used at least 1-1 1/2 tsp. I also used a couple of T. of olive oil and threw in a few shakes from the Spike bottle. I started with a frozen flat iron steak and marinated for 4 hours, grilled on a fairly hot BBQ grill for 5-6 minutes each side, sliced thinly. It was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOMEBUNNY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marysville, Washington, USA
Living In: Blaine, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marinated Flank Steak

See how to make a delicious marinade for flank steaks.

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Chef John’s Grilled Lamb Steaks

Grilled marinated lamb dressed with a minted honey and sherry vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States