Flat Iron Steak with Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I like this recipe! It was simple, easy to follow and made great use of an under-used, under-estimated cut of beef. I did take the advice of some previous reviewers and reduced the vinegar to 1/8th cup. I also used equal parts of both regular balsamic and white balsamic. For seasoning I love thyme with mushrooms! I added 2 TEAS. of Dried Thyme for just a bit more fullness, and I also minced the garlic instead of leaving the cloves whole. A very good recipe that I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCHEISS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mayfield Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: Wickliffe, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
YUMMMMMMMM!!!!!! I left out the mushrooms (didn't have any) and added large chunks of onion. Used a sprinkle of Nature Season while cooking the meat and onions. Otherwise I followed exactly. This was delicious! The whole family liked it! I may have liked a little more sauce with the finished product, but it was not dry at all and had a delicious flavor throughout! I will use mushrooms next time...and there will certainly be a next time!!!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
This was delicious. My husband is a steak lover and he raved over this. I have made it several times now and it has become our favorite recipe for steak. I use an iron skillet. They are much better to cook steakes than any I have tried. Thanks, Oma
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheelwright, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Wawaka, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Just followed the receipe. 1.33 lbs was enough for two dinners for my wife and I. outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by acorn2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Union Pier, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
My family just devoured this meal, not a drop left in the pan! I did cut back on the balsamic to 1/8 cup and I added more wine and used 1/2 teaspoon of 'Better than Bullion' to the sauce. I left my steak whole and cooked it about 5-8 min. longer in the oven. I then sliced with my electric knife and served on egg noodles. So easy to make. Will do again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanie Bonhoff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
Super! Cooked as directed, except I didn't have any shallots. If you like medium rare or rare, limit oven time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GolferGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Very easy, fast, and delicious! I used round steak, so it cooked quickly, and onions instead of shallots. I also followed other recommendations and used more wine and less vinegar. Definitely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAWNEY112

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
YUM!!!! While the steaks were keeping warm in the oven, I topped the steaks with goat cheese. I also served this with spaetzle...it soaks up the sauce. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin_like_Gram

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
Perfect and so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
My husband and I loved this recipe. I followed the recipe as it was . It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Steak Pizzaiola

See how to make the ultimate summer steak and tomato-sauce dish.

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States