Flat Iron Steak with Mushroom Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Cookin Up A Storm
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
This is a nice recipe for flat iron steak. I did, however, cut back on the amount of liquids in the sauce (to 1/2 the stated amounts) and skipped the flour entirely. I prefer my sauces without flour and just cooked the sauce down to the proper consistency. I also added a splash of dry sherry as we really like that flavor in our mushroom sauces. We did the steak on the grill (along with another steak we had done asian style) and it turned out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin Up A Storm

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Fergus Falls, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Followed the recipe to a tee it was great the whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Made this recipe as listed and my family really liked it. The sauce is quite yummy and certainly worth making again. The recipe lists ingredients of heavy whipping cream and chives, but nowhere in the instructions did it state how and where to use these items as of 25 March. I'm not the savviest in the kitchen, so I added the heavy whipping cream to the sauce shortly after adding the butter/flour mixture and simmered and stirred for about 5 minutes. This seemed to work well. The sauce thickened and the flavor increased. We all had seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
This was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EileenBlair
Home Town: Muskego, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
Great recipe. Easy and flavorful. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
This is soooo good have made it several times to serve over many different dishes including meat loaf so good thanks for sharing this one will be passed on and on
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2015
Tried this recipe tonight. I substituted the cremini mushrooms with portobello's because that's what I had on hand. Anyway, the cremini is a baby portobello mushroom I have learned. Also, I used Merlot instead of burgundy. This is a really excellent recipe. Normally I don't like flat iron steaks, but this put a whole new light on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frederick Berry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2015
This was my two favorite things - easy and delicious. I made a couple changes though because I only used what I had on hand. First, I used deer tenderloin instead of beef and second, I used port wine instead of burgundy because, again, it's what I had. I also substituted the onion powder with a whole onion because I like the texture it adds to the sauce; I just sauteed them with the mushrooms. What a great recipe! Thanks so much for sharing this with us. It has just become a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanna T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Lawn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Marsala Marinated Skirt Steak

See how to make grilled skirt steaks marinated with slightly sweet Marsala wine.

Salisbury Steak with Mushrooms

Watch how to make a classic Salisbury steak dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States