Flat Iron Steak with Balsamic Reduction Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
We used New York Strip Steak instead of Flat Iron, and the spicing was great! Unfortunately, I followed the heating instructions for the balsamic reduction and I turned it into tar!! Fortunately, the recipe calls for them to be cooked separate, if not my steak would've been ruined! Careful with how hot your pan is... it was smelling so good, but a little too vinegary for my fiance's taste, so possibly cutting back the vinegar next time. But either way, it's a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Marie Pizarro

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2009
have made the sauce and used it on grilled chicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
made this last night for dinner and it was great! used filets instead...will definitely make again! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
This was just ok. I 1/2ed the recipe and covered the steaks in the oil, then lightly sprinkled the pepper on top--didn't want to make them too spicy. My hubby grilled the steak while I prepared the basalmic reduction on the stove. It sounded great but tasted so-so. Thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orrville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hilliard, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
we used really thick ribeye steaks and followed the same directions. AMAZING!! we used one suggestion and added cherry tomato halves towards the end of the reducing. (we smooched them first to get extra water out). yes, very balsamic-y, but we love that. we used 2 cloves of garlic instead of 1. AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Antwerpianer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
Good recipe with great flavor. Thanks for submitting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DYMPLES805

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Ellensburg, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
very easy to make. I don't recommend this unless you love garlic & vinegar. It looks pretty plated w/ steamed asparagus & cherry tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
this was really good, though i cut back the balsamic knowing the kids would not love that so much. everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
We LOVED this recipe - but we also love balsamic vinegar. I wouldn't try it unless you feel the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by liam's.mama
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
this was good but you have to be carefull with the sauce. it goes from being just right to overdone very quickly. and once it's over done, it gets VERY thick an is useless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liam's.mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Lakeside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Flank Steak Marinade

What's cooking in Detroit? A flank steak marinade to wow them at the grill.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States