Flat Iron Steak with Balsamic Reduction Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
very easy to make. I don't recommend this unless you love garlic & vinegar. It looks pretty plated w/ steamed asparagus & cherry tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
this was really good, though i cut back the balsamic knowing the kids would not love that so much. everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
We LOVED this recipe - but we also love balsamic vinegar. I wouldn't try it unless you feel the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by liam's.mama
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
this was good but you have to be carefull with the sauce. it goes from being just right to overdone very quickly. and once it's over done, it gets VERY thick an is useless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liam's.mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Lakeside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
I used dried parsley, I added it during the "vinegar reduction" phase. It works if you don't have fresh parsley. Also, I added onion slices. Cook them at the very last with the "vinegar reduction."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
Delicious! Purely by circumstance, I had the steak seasoned and ended up not being able to cook it that night so it sat covered in the fridge for a day and a half so the pepper flavor in the meat was excellent! I'll do it intentionally next time. Wonderful recipe. Thanks for sharing it with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
I don't eat meat, but this was loved and devoured by my gang! I did this just a tad differently in that I reduced the balsamic in a separate sauce pan which ended up taking about a half hour to get to that sweet, syrupy stage. Once the meat was done and sliced I drizzled on the sauce. Rave reviews in this house Kmommyz and everyone here sends a hearty thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
My family really liked this recipe. Instead of pouring the sauce over I put it into dipping cups. My husband isn't a big fan of vinegar so he didn't use his and still loved the steak. Definitely will cook again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
this was good. i seared and cooked the steak, removed from the pan and sauteed shallots and garlic for a minute or so. after pouring in the balsamic vinegar, i added about a half cup of coarsely chopped grape tomatoes. cooked that for about 15 minutes, and then pressed on the tomatoes with a spatula so they'd give up their juices. reduced a bit more, then strained through cheese cloth. used some of the reduction for a salad dressing, used the rest as directed. simple, elegant dish. the reduction is quite pungent, but sweet and compliments a rare steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
This recipe is for black pepper lovers only!!! If yopu like a great seasoned steak try this. Use the salad spritzers balsalmic vinegrete spray or salad dressing as your marinade. season with mccormicks grillmates hamburger seasoning it has the best mix for steak we have found. than cook to your liking. there is no wasting of exspensive oils or anything. but the taste is simply awesume!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Flank Steak Marinade

What's cooking in Detroit? A flank steak marinade to wow them at the grill.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States