Flat Iron Steak with Balsamic Reduction Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I don't think I put enough pepper on but it was still fantastic. I added mushrooms to the balsamic and it really enhanced the dish. My boyfriend went back for seconds after warning me before dinner that he didn't think he was very hungry. We will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LBott
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Very tasty dish. I tried it with heavy cream as well as the way it is written. I actually liked the way it was written a bit better. A nice variation for steak lovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonathan Stube

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
i added onion powder to the marinade and lessened the vinegar to about 1/4 cup also used sea salt and chopped minced garlic but no parsley....also used in in my george forman just brush the grill with the butter turned out great this was pretty good thanks so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alishia Marie Toth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
We made this last night with a garden salad and mashed potatoes. I cheated and bough a bit nicer steak that was already rolled in the crushed pepper. I was a little worried about the balsamic reduction because it smelled SO pungent at first, but once it was down to the syrup stage it was FABULOUS. Preparing it in the same pan as the steak gives it a hint of the pepper. The kids really like this though they felt the steak was a bit too spicy with the peppercorns. Next time, I may do some without the pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
this was great, both my wife and I loved it, at first I thought it would be too much pepper but with the balsamic it came out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I use a cast iron skillet. I always get the steak to room temp and marinate in a vaccum sealer for about 45 minutes. If you do not have a vaccum unit, marinate for 2 hours in the frig and bring to room temp before cooking, al the rest is the way to do it. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Casa Grande, Arizona, USA
Living In: Sutcliffe, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Very good. As another reviewer mentioned, the quality of balsamic is important. I have often found that low ratings in a recipe such as this one are usually because of the vinegar being used. It's simply one ingredient worth paying for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Pemberton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
I will certainly make this again. I made this per the recipe but I recommend brushing the steak with olive oil and coating with peppercorns and salt then let it sit in the fridge for an hour or more prior to cooking. I have made several pepper steaks and I find that letting them "marinate" for some time helps. The balsamic vinegar sure smelled potent during and directly after cooking but it tasted just fine on the steak. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
This is a great dish. Both my husband and I loved it. It has great flavor and is attractive enough for guests. To achieve a fabulous sauce, it is essential to reduce the sauce to a thick syrup consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
This was very easy and fast. I think the "too vinegary" reviews may have been caused by not allowing the balsamic to reduce enough, because it was very sweet tasting if allowed to reduce about as much as the recipe says (by 1/2). I used 3/4C of balsamic like other reviewers, so perhaps that was it. Anyway, very easy and good weeknight dinner with sweet potatoes and corn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Flank Steak Marinade

What's cooking in Detroit? A flank steak marinade to wow them at the grill.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States