Flat Iron Steak and Spinach Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SLJ6
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
Ohhh so delicious....my first time making flat iron steak and it was a success. Even my family really liked this. OK....so I made a little deviation from the recipe....I grilled my peppers, red onion, and portabello mushrooms, and reduced the dressing and wine mixture seperately. I used a little evoo, salt and pepper on the meat and grilled. Plated the salad, added the sliced grilled veggies, topped with the steak, crumbled blue cheese and the dressing....and a few crutons. What a meal! The steak was tender and juicy, and it was just all around a satisfying dinner....will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
Just wanted to share: You should try swapping the spinach for arugula (or rocket)...it makes the steak flavors just POP
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sallybranwyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
Beautiful blend of flavors. I also didn't have enough Italian dressing in the pan but just added a bit more. Gorgeous dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
Wow, I was looking for a way to use my chicken and spinach, and found this recipe, and I thought if I marinated my chicken in italian dressing, that would work instead of the steak. But, as I prepared my sauce, I realized I had no mushrooms or bell pepper. I decided to give it a go anyway, and oh my word, just the red onion (and 3 small cloves garlic) in the sauce, and it was incredible! The wine and the sweetness of the red onion when it cooked down worked so well together. I used fresh asiago and a little fresh tomato between the chicken and spinach (which I didn't wilt since the dressing was still simmering when I poured it on the spinach), then topped it with some green onion...It was so easy and looked beautiful, and tasted phenominal! I can't wait to do it right with steak and blue cheese! What a perfect recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karetha Palmer-Dellgrottaglia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montrose, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
My husband and I really enjoyed this one! I made a few substitutions...I used some roasted red peppers and instead of olive oil I used my Italian dressing and then just added a tiny bit more red wine at the end! It was light and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
Excellent recipe. Restaurant quality. I will definitely eat this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
Excellent! The husband made this tonight, and it was great! He did say that the sauce should be doubled. Can't wait until he does this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GolferGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
This hearty dinner salad was excellent! The flavors go very well together,big hit with me!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie Monster

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baraboo, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
WOW! This salad was excellent! I had a few friends over for lunch, and prepared this. Every plate was practically licked clean! I grilled the steaks ahead of time (night before) and just reheated them in the microwave, however I am sure it would taste even better with freshly grilled steaks. I used red cooking wine instead of regular wine, a combo of green and red peppers, and reduced my dressing (which I doubled) separately. I definitely plan on making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
This was absolutely a great summer time recipe. I followed the recipe exactly. The steak was wonderful and all of the ingredients just blended superbly.I didn't have Italian dressing, so I used Gazebo Room Greek salad and marinade dressing and crumbled feta, instead of blue cheese. With fresh tomatoes in season, I placed two beautiful slices on each plate for garnish. Tasted great and looked beautiful, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Spinach and Strawberry Salad

Mix the colors and flavors of summer and enjoy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States