Flat Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
I was out of Bisquick and so made these for my chicken dumpling soup. Nice and easy but I prefer Bisquick dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
My family really liked these. So much lighter (and better tasting) than the "baseball" shaped dumplings I USED TO make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
This is comfort food at its finest! The flavor of these dumplings is amazing, which warranted my 4-star rating. However, I agree with other reviewers that the dough was super sticky. I could not roll out the dough, no matter how much extra flour I used. I ended up dropping the dough by pinched handfuls into the boiling broth. They turned out excellent and full of flavor! Hint: If you don't like extremely doughy/thick dumplings, you need to pinch off very small amounts of dough to drop into the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
This recipe was better than my grandma's! They were so easy to roll. I cut them with a pizza cutter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
Quick and easy! I was out of parsley and onion, but I'll try it like that next time. This is good, basic recipe. Dough was a bit sticky at first but nothing a few more sprinkles of flour didn't fix. Like most recipes for any kind of dough, the flour needs to be adjusted a little each time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Port Charlotte, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
Fantastic!!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
I think the term flat dumpling is somewhat misleading in this recipe. These really are flat heavy biscuits, not dumplings. For those who appreciate the heaviness and chewy texture, these are quite flavorful. Those looking for a nice traditional fluffy dumpling to have with their chicken, I suggest trying a different recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2005
What went wrong? I followed the Recipie! They turned out flat, gummy, tough and DISSAPPOINTING!!!! Next time I'm trying baking soda instead of baking powder. I will defenantly look at some other recipies next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
i thought these were wonderful. thanks sherry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2004
We liked these. They're not quite as heavy as the flat dumplings, but are tastier than the big fluffy ones. I also gave up on rolling and cutting the dough. Dropping by spoonfuls worked well. No chicken fat, butter, or shortening is called for which is a plus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Low-Carb Jambalaya

See how to make a tasty, meat-filled jambalaya without all the carbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States