Flat Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
I very seldom leave a review but I felt this deserved one. This is by far the best dumplings I have ever made. I have tried many other recipes and this one is the best! The dumplings have an awesome flavor and consistency and they definitely made an excellent pot of chicken and dumplings. They are meant to be rolled out flat but you will have to use a lot of flour for dusting the dough as you roll them out avoid having the dough stick to your roller. I then used a pizza cutter to cut them into squares rather then circles, I find that to be much easier. Thank you so much for a recipe that my entire family loved so much. There were none leftover!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Yum. Using a pizza cutter I sliced long strips about 1 1/2 inches wide and then cut them about 3 inches long to make wide, flat noodle shapes. My husband, who was more of a dumpling-in stew- man, now perfers this recipe. They were tender and plump and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
How disappointed I was with how this turned out. Had I of added some black coloring I could have used them as hokey pucks. The middles never cooked and the outter were sticky and hard. Thankfully it was family at the dinner table...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I did not have any chicken broth so I substituted it with milk like someone else suggested. I also added oregano because I made an Italian dumpling meal. I ran out of pasta so dumplings work great as a fill-in! I did not have any problems rolling the dough. It formed perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina de Faria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
I added chicken to this recipe. Mine also did not turn out flat. But i made dough balls the best i could and dropped them into the boiling broth. VERY yummy! :) nice to eat on a cold evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Foreman House

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
I agree that the term 'flat' is misleading, perhaps 'drop noodles' would suit most. My Grandaddy calls them Sinkers. :) Anyhow, this is the same basic recipe I have used for years and was taught by my mother. Real old, real good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sayward

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
This is now a staple in my recipe bin!! I wish I had my camera charged - they came out wonderfully : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paramus, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
I've never tried dumplings before and after this recipe may never again. I happened to have extra chicken broth laying around that I needed to use. I stumbled upon this recipe, realized I had everything I needed in the Kitchen and set to work. First, there is no way to make them flat, I mean zero ways! It was bland, heavy, and the opposite of delicious. I even doubled the onion and added garlic. I'm not sure anything could save this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
These dumplings were amazing and so low in fat! Instead of flat dumplings, I dropped them by very small spoonfuls into the pot bearing in mind that they are dense so keeping them small allows them to cook in the same timeframe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abbyf

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
I have no idea what other people made, but I followed this recipe to the letter and there was no way to roll them out. It came out a lot more like spaetzel. Someone should look at this recipe again since there is obviously something wrong with the proportions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States