Flat Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Never had dumplings before and was searching for something I could make with ingredients I had on hand. I thought they were pretty good. The only thing I omitted was the onion but will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Extremely easy to make. Had to add quite a bit more flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
Loved it!!! Glad I was able to find it again!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Looked at a couple other recipes on here and decided on this one because I didn't want a biscuit type. These lived up to my expectations. I am done shopping for a dumpling. I read where some had trouble rolling these out. I had no problem, just floured my area and my pin until all was okay. Turned out great. I made my own broth from cooking an entire chicken with celery stalks and carrots. Then strained the fat off the top, but retained it. Cooked the dumpling in the broth. On the side I sauteed fresh carrot (1), celery (2), onion (1/2), 2 cloves garlic with the chicken fat and a little butter. When the dumplings were just about done, I added the veggies, shredded chicken, parsley, thyme, salt, garlic powder and heated through. I rated it a 10 and and 11 as a left over. Several people remarked how good and how good the house smelled. These are awesome, assuming you dont want dumplings that are airy and light like bread, a floating biscuit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
I haven't made it yet, but going to store to get added ingredients. Looks close to How My Mom made them.. YUMMY .. Can't wait to get it going..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RuthieEB

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Really good and easy. I used my dough hook on my kitchenaid and dropped small amounts of dough into my stew. My kids and hubby all asked for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
extremely tasty. I would not change one thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I used this recipe to make dumplings for the first time ever and they were delicious! Very easy to make and the perfect consistency. I followed another review and just dropped them by the spoonful and they came out perfect. I would make them again the exact same way, but my husband requested that next time I leave the onion out(although he liked them this way, too). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Different strokes for different folks! I LOVE these dumplings! I like my dumplings thick and heavy, I just don't care for dumplings that are like bread floating in broth. For my hungry guys (2 teenage boys & 1 husband), I doubled this recipe, used milk instead of chicken broth (they were going to be cooked in chicken broth), used only 1 egg, 1/2 cup more flour, less parsley, and no onions. I used the dough hook to mix the dry and wet ingredients, with the extra flour it wasn't sticky at all. I built up some muscles kneading and rolling out but it was totally worth it- ended up with my perfect dumpling AND burned a few calories. I made sure to cut them small and added a few more minutes of cook time. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cara.davis

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
I just pulled these off the stove and they are fantastic. Instead of chicken broth for the liquid I used skim milk. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflowerhill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilburton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Antlers, Oklahoma, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States