Flapper Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2001
my mom always made this pie for my husband...i have tried to make it, but he says my mom always make's it better!!!! very yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
This pie was excellent! I added a tad more cornstarch as recommended by other users. Will make again. I am not even a cream pie lover! The almond in the meringue sets this off as special!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamjlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Graham wafer pie has always been my husband's favorite and the only thing his mother made that I also make for him (for fifty years now). No matter what you call it, the men all love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TERRIS911
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
Simply delicious custard pie! Reminds me of an old fashioned style pie my great grandmother made, didn't change a thing, came out perfect, had NO leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TERRIS911

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Just like the recipe Mom made years ago. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
My Mom made this for me as a child and I now make it. We only use 2 egg whites in the meringue and do not use the almond extract. A very quick, easy, comforting dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JEWELJETT
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Excellent Recipe! I added an extra tsp of cornstarch as another person had suggested and it turned out great... tasted just like the flapper pie I remember eating years ago! I wanted to make it in advance so I prepared the recipe to the egg white stage and refrigerated over night, then made the egg white topping the next day and baked. I wasn't sure how it would be but it was fine. I do think it would better made and eaten on the same day though as I noticed that the crust was getting a bit soggy as I cut the pie to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEWELJETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Excellent pie! Added a bit more cornstarch, but didn't need to change anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
My husband doesn't really like these kinds of pies, but he really liked this one. The crust did get a bit soggy, so I'll add another tablespoon of cornstarch next time. Other than that it was a good recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizet1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
The custard filling was a bit soggy the first time i made it, but I added another teaspoon of cornstarch to make it more durable. However, the taste turned out delicious and creamy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States