Flapper Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
It was like drinking almond, egg sugar soup. I tried cooking later at 425 for another 20 minutes, until crust was almost burnt, and it was finally edible and no longer soupy, raw eggs. Regardless, it was way too sweet. No reason to ever need so much sugar. And I love almond extract, but it overpowered the recipe. Might try again but would make huge changes, including actually cooking the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Found the pie (and crust) to be too sweet to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JEWELJETT
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Excellent Recipe! I added an extra tsp of cornstarch as another person had suggested and it turned out great... tasted just like the flapper pie I remember eating years ago! I wanted to make it in advance so I prepared the recipe to the egg white stage and refrigerated over night, then made the egg white topping the next day and baked. I wasn't sure how it would be but it was fine. I do think it would better made and eaten on the same day though as I noticed that the crust was getting a bit soggy as I cut the pie to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEWELJETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Excellent pie! Added a bit more cornstarch, but didn't need to change anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
My Mom made this for me as a child and I now make it. We only use 2 egg whites in the meringue and do not use the almond extract. A very quick, easy, comforting dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Graham wafer pie has always been my husband's favorite and the only thing his mother made that I also make for him (for fifty years now). No matter what you call it, the men all love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
This pie was excellent! I added a tad more cornstarch as recommended by other users. Will make again. I am not even a cream pie lover! The almond in the meringue sets this off as special!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamjlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
My husband doesn't really like these kinds of pies, but he really liked this one. The crust did get a bit soggy, so I'll add another tablespoon of cornstarch next time. Other than that it was a good recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizet1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Just like the recipe Mom made years ago. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
The custard filling was a bit soggy the first time i made it, but I added another teaspoon of cornstarch to make it more durable. However, the taste turned out delicious and creamy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States