Flank Steak with Mushroom Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Looks great!! Trying this recipe tonight.... My man loves mushrooms so we shall see. Almost ready to eat... smells great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This meal was both easy to prepare and delicious! I followed the directions exactly except for the fact that I did not have fresh or dried rosemary. It was a hit in my house served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie Spellerberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Very easy to make - followed the directions and my picky husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Delicious! I substituted the beef broth for some Heinz Homestyle Savory Mushroom gravy and water which made a thick and very savory sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Pretty good. I usually don't make steak, but gave it a shot tonight. I only used one packet of beef broth and used soy sauce. I'll try two packets next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
This was fairly simple and very delicious! A great weeknight meal to prepare when you don't have much energy or time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
This was very good...husband loved it. A few comments: I am not familiar with flank steak. The recipe said 1 flank steak. The one at the meat market was 2 lbs. Not sure if this is typical but thought maybe it could have used more sauce. Also, shallots are expensive and next time I will try regular onion. The beef broth was very tasty, but also not cheap. I may try to replicate it with bouillion and soy sauce with a bit of worcesteshirer. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Quincy, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Very bland and the meat was raw. All you taste are the shallots and the rosemary but here's what you can do to make this a 4-star recipe: - Look for a flank steak that is no more than 1 lb. Unfortunately this recipe doesn't specify the weight and if you just buy any flank like I did (1-1/2 lbs) you'll need to increase all of the amount of all ingredients accordingly. - In addition to the garlic called for, add 1 tsp garlic powder when you add the rosemary - Add teaspoon of salt at the time you add the rosemary The instructions above call for too short a cooking time for medium rare, even for a 1 lb flank steak. Mine was completely raw except for the very outside. Flank steak isn't really meant to be cooked beyond medium rare or medium but prior to cooking it, you'll want to let the steak sit out and bring it down to almost room temperature and then cook it for 8 minutes on EACH side, not 10 minute total. Also, I tried finding the packets Swanson Flavor Boost Concentrated Beef broth packets in the 3 largest supermarket chains in New England and they weren't sold in any of them. So I eliminated the water and simply used 1/2-cup of regular beef broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I made this last night and it was delicious!!! The flank steak needed about 9 minutes on each side for a medium. I seasoned the steak with a little Paula Deen House Seasoning before searing and let it rest before cutting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JSikorski76

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hammond, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Prosciutto Asparagus

This holiday appetizer couldn't be easier--or tastier!

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States