Flank Steak Pinwheels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2006
This was delicious among a beautiful presentation. My hubbie tasted it and looked at me and said "On a scale on 1-5, babe this is a 10!" I have to admit I did alter the recipe... alot, but this was such a great base. First off, I butterflied my meat for easier rolling and more tender meat. Then I marinated my meat for 6 hours in "Puerto Rican Garlic Marinade" from this site. Since it had the garlic in the marinade, I omitted it from the filling and fried the onions before adding them. I used the whole package of spinach and it came out perfect! We had my hubbie's best friend over for dinner and all you heard were "Mmmm's" and praises through dinner. I served it with "garlicky summer squash" from this site, and I made a parsley-herb rice. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Metta Karuna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Hiawatha, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Florham Park, New Jersey, USA
Photo by Always Cooking Up Something
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2004
This recipe is awesome! Pounding, piercing, and a long marinating time make this the most savory, tender flank steak I've ever eaten. The filling is delicious, and the pinwheel presentation makes this a great dish for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Always Cooking Up Something

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
We really liked this as is, but I can see many other posibilities. I sliced my steak in half and then beat. Did not have all night to marinate, but several hours produced good flavour. It made two rolls and they cooked in 40 minutes. Would like a sauce to serve with it. Anyone have any ideas?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RYSWISKGAL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
This is wonderful. I used fresh baby spinach leaves instead of frozen and Parmesan cheese instead of Feta. Great with mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2005
Great recipe. My changes: Didn't use onion or salt in filling (forgot onion, but it wasn't missed). I used 5-6 cloves of garlic that I had roasted in olive oil for the spread instead of raw garlic. A little more work, but the smell of roasted garlic throughout the house is a wonderful hint of the dish to come. Then to cook I grilled it over high heat on all sides (maybe 10 minutes total) to sear. Then turned off one side of the gas burners, moved the steak to the "cool" side of the grill and left the other side running fairly hot with the lid closed. Checked with instant read thermometer until temp hit 120-125 for medium rare. Let it rest 10 minutes. This served four of us, three slices each, with a few end pieces left...which didn't last! We all were sorry there wasn't any more. Easy, easy dish to make and it looks nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I really loved this! Most merinades turn out more like teriyaki sauce this one didn't! I didn't have feta cheese so I addes grated swiss and Parm! yummi! will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DanielleMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
Unbelievable. Didn't know something that looks and tastes so great could be this simple. As others have noted, cooking time may be a little shorter than indicated. One thing I added that gave it a little something extra was sun-dried tomatoes. I also substituted gorgonzola for the feta for personnal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simsbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
I dont know how this could get any bad reviews. This was awesome! I did not use flank steak though, I used breakfast steaks at my local grocery store because they were sliced really thin. I made individual pinwheels vs. a roll and slicing it. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
This is great with a couple really simple changes. I butterfly the meat and after marinating it cover it with a thin layer of cream cheese. I also use fresh spinach and add chopped mushrooms which I sauted along withe the onions and garlic and spread that atop the cream cheese. This is so delicious and looks so impressive. Perfect when company is coming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
This recipe was AMAZING! I literally could not stop eating. The combination of flavors is unreal. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Grilled Garlic Fennel Flank Steak with Oranges

See how to make flavorful flank steak with grilled oranges.

Teriyaki Flank Steak

See how to make a tasty teriyaki marinade for grilled flank steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States