Flank Steak Pinwheels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
WOW! Awesome marinade. I will use it for shish kabobs on the grill next time. Meat was juicy, flavorful and great leftover. I second the recommendation to saute the onions before, unless you like them crunchy. I left out the bread crumbs because those often make things soggy when stuffed inside meat. Glad I did! The garlic, spinach and feta don't need to be toned down. Since I only had 3 hours to marinate, I put the meat in the baking dish and poured the leftover mix all over the meat before putting it in the oven. I basted twice during the 50-min. cooking time and the meat came out delicious. Mix the filling (sans breadcrumbs) when making the marinade and store it while the meat soaks. Cooking when you get home from work is then a snap - fill, roll, bake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
FANTASTIC-- I added a little fresh basil to the marinade, and added a small amount of riccota cheese to the spinach/feta mixture to keep it together a little better... and it was WONDERFUL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sizzlin' Mamma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
The Best! I wish I could eat it all the time!!!! Substituted feta for provelone cheese and just put fresh spinage, bacon and red peppers in the middle. Extreamly tasty!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mtcrloss87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elkins Park, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
I let the meat marinate overnight and used twice the spinach. It was great! It's important to roll it up in the right direction.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
I gave this a 5 even though I didn't use the whole recipe. I just used the marinade only......It was AWESOME and so tender with only a 7-8 hr marinade. I grilled it, then sliced it and made quesadillas with Mexican Blend cheese....Oh so YUMMY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
With other ratings, I thought this would turn out better. Could be that I didn't pound the meat enough because it was tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
My husband liked these a lot better than I did. They were easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
This recipe was a hit with my guests. I cut the cooking time back by 15 mins. as my rolls were not that think and it turned out perfect. It was even tastier the as leftovers the next night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
Fantastic...need I say more. I did, however, only use the marinade portion of this recipe as I was short on ingredients and time. So delicious though. Definitely will make again and next time as the whole recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gill Ian

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
This was yummy. It had a lot of flavor, however, my meat turned out very dry, prehaps you should cover the flanks with foil during baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCambodianCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 81-90 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Garlic Fennel Flank Steak with Oranges

See how to make flavorful flank steak with grilled oranges.

Teriyaki Flank Steak

See how to make a tasty teriyaki marinade for grilled flank steak.

Tuscan Flank Steak

See how to make a simple but amazing marinated flank steak for the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States