Flank Steak Pinwheels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
this is FANTASTIC! my children, who don't normally like eating meat, can't get enough and its wonderful for company. i have even made several at a time (marinade is enough for 2-3x the steaks) and frozen them to cook later, just defrost and cook normally. i do put in less bread crumbs, more garlic, and more spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novi, Michigan, USA
Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
This is great with a couple really simple changes. I butterfly the meat and after marinating it cover it with a thin layer of cream cheese. I also use fresh spinach and add chopped mushrooms which I sauted along withe the onions and garlic and spread that atop the cream cheese. This is so delicious and looks so impressive. Perfect when company is coming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen Myers

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
Very very good. Next time I will marinate the meat for 48 hours. It's a great way to cook a cheaper cut of meat. I used gorgonzola, forgot the breadcrumbs. I didn't sautee the onions as others suggested, don't think it matters. Fiance kept saying 'this is sooo good!' I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Phenomenal recipe. So easy. DELICIOUS! And beautiful for guests. I've made this several times, and everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
This was very good, although next time I will saute the onions before putting them on the steak as I didn't really like the crunch they gave. The marinade is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
Very yummy! Thouroughly enjoyed. Definitely a keeper. Followed recipe exact.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
I've always wanted to try this and it was a success. Maybe it was the feta I used, but it did come out a bit too salty. Also, the flank needs to be VERY THIN in order for it to roll up effectively. Very hearty, and the leftovers were awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SeattleGal34

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chelan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
This was alright. I didn't have garlic cloves, so I sprinkled garlic powder on the steak before putting on onions, bread crumbs etc. It was just too strong on the flavors (too much garlic), and my husband took two bites and that was it for him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeanNeeNer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carson, California, USA
Living In: Buckeye, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
I really like this recipe. My husband calls it "Fru-Fru" so I'm giving it 4 stars intstead of 5. However the second time I tried it I got a large flank steak and cut it vertically into two slabs. I then tenderized both and made one of the slabs into pinwheels as per the recipe. For the second one I took the marinade, soaked some sliced fresh mushrooms in it for a few hours, and then chopped them up a bit in my mini-food processor. I then used that as the filling for the second half of the flank steak and rolled it into a pinwheel. My husband LOVED it that way. I grilled both on the gas grill with a grilling pan so the cheese and mushroom pieces wouldn't fall into my gas grill. Both versions were really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
I made a few changes, but it still turned out delicious. Instead of bread crumbs and feta, I used finely minced, sauteed mushrooms. I also did not put additional garlic on the flank steak, since the marinade seemed garlicky enough already. This was soooooo yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSERS11581

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Garlic Fennel Flank Steak with Oranges

See how to make flavorful flank steak with grilled oranges.

Teriyaki Flank Steak

See how to make a tasty teriyaki marinade for grilled flank steak.

Tuscan Flank Steak

See how to make a simple but amazing marinated flank steak for the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States