Flan Mexicano (Mexican Flan) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
To me the density and consistency of this flan was perfect. I've since modified it to use only 2/3c. sugar for the caramel since not all the caramel liquified in baking using the full cup. I also use whole evaporated milk and leave out the cornstarch. If I'm choosing not to use the orange juice, I sub in milk. This has become my husband's most requested dessert. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melissa
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
I made this today and it turned out perfectly! Instead of one flan pan I used a decorative muffin pan that has six muffins and this made individual flans. (I had a bit leftover and out it in a small pie pan.) I omitted the orange juice and orange peel (don't care for orange flavor) and also omitted the whole milk and instead used 1 whole can of evaporated milk. Everything else I followed exactly as the recipe stated and the taste is amazing! It was a huge hit for my family, also. My husband said it is better than the flan in the local Mexican restaurant. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Liberty, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
Neither I nor my family has ever tried this type of flan before, and although we finished it off, we've decided we don't like it because it was too rich, too sweet, and too custardy for our tastes. However, to be fair, I gave it 5 stars because the recipe and instructions were step-by-step, and because the texture, the appearance and the orange flavor turned out the way it was supposed to (according to the description and other reviews). A word of caution: this is not the recipe to try in a removeable-bottom flan pan, since the water from the water-bath seeped into the removable bottom of the pan, creating a bit of a mess with the caramel-sugar layer. (Of course, I should've realized this beforehand. Duuuh!) All-in-all, though, this was a nice recipe, and at least we can say we tried it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
This recipe is amazing. I made it for a party, and I was asked by no less than 5 people for the recipe! The texture I thought was outstanding, and the flavor, while sweet, is great in small portions. My only criticism is that the custard did not set with 1 hour of cooktime on 350F; I found that increasing the temp to 375F or increasing the time to 75-80 minutes worked for me. Might be just my stove, but I've seen similar notes on other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kesih

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Riner, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
This was delicious! Left out the orange zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
This was a phenomenal recipe! It was easy to fix and it came out looking picture perfect. It is important to allow the time (4 hours) for it to sit, though. My husband wasn't sure he liked the orange flavor, but I loved it and all the people at the dinner we served it at raved about it...they are still raving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
great recipe used it in class everyone loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greengo chili

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Odessa, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Katy
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
Wow! Thanks Tigerlily402! This was delicious! The orange flavor was pretty distinct and we enjoyed it. But next time, we might just try it plain. I followed the recipe as best I could: I did not have a flan mold, so I used a deep-dish pie pan. And I didn't have a roasting pan, so I improvised with a deep skillet. Not ideal, but it worked! Mmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
I thought this recipe was outstanding and so did everyone at the party. The next time I will make it without the orange juice and orange peel. Just use this recipe but do vanilla or coconut. The texture came out perfect. This was my first time ever making a Flan and I thought it was very simple. I was pleasantly surprised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
My son made this for his Spanish class - what a hit! We used a star-shaped jello mould, and I was worried that the sugar was going to stick but it didn't. The flan came out looking fantastic & we can't wait to make it again. Very easy with a beautiful presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by makechristocook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanish Flan

This creamy flan custard will become everyone's favorite dessert.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States