Flan Mexicano (Mexican Flan) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
To me the density and consistency of this flan was perfect. I've since modified it to use only 2/3c. sugar for the caramel since not all the caramel liquified in baking using the full cup. I also use whole evaporated milk and leave out the cornstarch. If I'm choosing not to use the orange juice, I sub in milk. This has become my husband's most requested dessert. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Several folks have had trouble getting all the sugar to caramelize - an easy fix is to use Baker's Sugar... it's a superfine granulated sugar (not powdered sugar) that is made for just such an application. C&H makes it; I don't know if it's available all over the country, but look for it in the sugar section of the supermarket.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by azdon

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melissa
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
I made this today and it turned out perfectly! Instead of one flan pan I used a decorative muffin pan that has six muffins and this made individual flans. (I had a bit leftover and out it in a small pie pan.) I omitted the orange juice and orange peel (don't care for orange flavor) and also omitted the whole milk and instead used 1 whole can of evaporated milk. Everything else I followed exactly as the recipe stated and the taste is amazing! It was a huge hit for my family, also. My husband said it is better than the flan in the local Mexican restaurant. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Liberty, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
I swapped a few things, but will stick to my new recipe from now on: subbed whole milk for evaporated milk and reduced it to 3/4 C, then omitted all orange stuff, and added 1/2 C coconut milk. Also toasted my own coconut and put it on the syrup before putting flan in dish. Followed same blending instructions, and it is SOO creamy and delicious with a touch of coconut flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
This was my first attempt at Flan, it was also my first time eating flan. Whenever I have seen it at a restaurant I was never tempted to try it. But the other day my son was asking about flan and if it was good or not so I figured the best way to find out was to make it. I had to make this 2x. The first time I tried to make these in mini spring-form pans. Really bad idea they leaked all into the water bath and just made a big yucky mess. So I tried it again the next day. I used 6 6oz ramekins and baked for 40 minutes. This was fun to make. And surprisingly easy. I expected it to be more complicated. The texture was silky and smooth. Lovely flavor with just a hint of orange to it. Really fantastic and now I know that Flan is fabulous. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2010
This was a phenomenal recipe! It was easy to fix and it came out looking picture perfect. It is important to allow the time (4 hours) for it to sit, though. My husband wasn't sure he liked the orange flavor, but I loved it and all the people at the dinner we served it at raved about it...they are still raving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Katy
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
Wow! Thanks Tigerlily402! This was delicious! The orange flavor was pretty distinct and we enjoyed it. But next time, we might just try it plain. I followed the recipe as best I could: I did not have a flan mold, so I used a deep-dish pie pan. And I didn't have a roasting pan, so I improvised with a deep skillet. Not ideal, but it worked! Mmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2010
This was delicious! Left out the orange zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
I had tried the Spanish Flan on this site, and while I thought that was lovely, it was NOTHING compared to the texture of this one! I omitted the orange stuff and left it traditional vanilla way. Instead of the whole milk, cornstarch, and heavy cream, I just used a can of evaporated milk. Obviously, it is the 3 eggs and two egg yolks that makes this one have a divine texture! I definitely recommend it, even the simple way with just a can of evaporated milk, one can of condensed milk, vanilla, and the eggs blended and cooked just as directed here! Excellent! This is my flan recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by invierno_eterno

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
Neither I nor my family has ever tried this type of flan before, and although we finished it off, we've decided we don't like it because it was too rich, too sweet, and too custardy for our tastes. However, to be fair, I gave it 5 stars because the recipe and instructions were step-by-step, and because the texture, the appearance and the orange flavor turned out the way it was supposed to (according to the description and other reviews). A word of caution: this is not the recipe to try in a removeable-bottom flan pan, since the water from the water-bath seeped into the removable bottom of the pan, creating a bit of a mess with the caramel-sugar layer. (Of course, I should've realized this beforehand. Duuuh!) All-in-all, though, this was a nice recipe, and at least we can say we tried it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanish Flan

This creamy flan custard will become everyone's favorite dessert.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States