Flan Mexicano (Mexican Flan) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
This was an amazing recipe without any alteration: I will definitely be making this recipe many times. My wife, our friends and I all loved it. I used several smaller custard dishes rather than a large flan dish and it turned out great. After you've got the dishes prepared, put a kitchen towel in a baking dish, put the smaller custard dishes on the towel, and fill the baking dish with water until it is about half way up the side of the custard dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
This was AMAZING. I didn't have an orange, so I subbed 1tsp orange extract, but didn't change anything else. Everyone at our big family dinner kept exclaiming over how it was the best flan they'd ever had; better than any restaurant's. Thank you for sharing!! Oh, also, it was perfectly done at 45 min on 350 - wiggly and not "set." cooled for less than an hour on the counter (to room temp), then in the fridge for 4 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
great texture and flavor, very creamy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
I love flan i cant get enough of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
I thought this recipe was outstanding and so did everyone at the party. The next time I will make it without the orange juice and orange peel. Just use this recipe but do vanilla or coconut. The texture came out perfect. This was my first time ever making a Flan and I thought it was very simple. I was pleasantly surprised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
My son made this for his Spanish class - what a hit! We used a star-shaped jello mould, and I was worried that the sugar was going to stick but it didn't. The flan came out looking fantastic & we can't wait to make it again. Very easy with a beautiful presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by makechristocook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
great recipe used it in class everyone loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greengo chili

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Odessa, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
A dependable, easy recipe that yields an exotic dessert. I've made this flan five times in the last two weeks, because friends have tasted it and requested that I make one for their cake sale or Mexican-themed dinner party. My recipe tweaks: - Whisk the eggs and egg yolks together before adding, or the gelatinous whites will separate from the pudding mixture. - A Tablespoon of grated orange rind is way too much! I've taken it down to about 3/4 teaspoon and acheived the fragrance without an overwhelming orange flavor. - You really do have to refridgerate it for four hours, or the flan will not turn out of the pan easily and neatly. Of course, eating my mistakes is what keeps me such a fat and happy cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melissa
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
I made this today and it turned out perfectly! Instead of one flan pan I used a decorative muffin pan that has six muffins and this made individual flans. (I had a bit leftover and out it in a small pie pan.) I omitted the orange juice and orange peel (don't care for orange flavor) and also omitted the whole milk and instead used 1 whole can of evaporated milk. Everything else I followed exactly as the recipe stated and the taste is amazing! It was a huge hit for my family, also. My husband said it is better than the flan in the local Mexican restaurant. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Liberty, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
I swapped a few things, but will stick to my new recipe from now on: subbed whole milk for evaporated milk and reduced it to 3/4 C, then omitted all orange stuff, and added 1/2 C coconut milk. Also toasted my own coconut and put it on the syrup before putting flan in dish. Followed same blending instructions, and it is SOO creamy and delicious with a touch of coconut flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanish Flan

This creamy flan custard will become everyone's favorite dessert.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States