Flan Mexicano (Mexican Flan) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
This was amazing. Took it to work for a taco potluck and it was the bomb! Everyone wanted the recipe. I doubled the orange zest but otherwise did the recipe. It is fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Several folks have had trouble getting all the sugar to caramelize - an easy fix is to use Baker's Sugar... it's a superfine granulated sugar (not powdered sugar) that is made for just such an application. C&H makes it; I don't know if it's available all over the country, but look for it in the sugar section of the supermarket.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by azdon

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
Fantastic. I had flan when I was in Mexico on holidays but this beats them all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
I was a little intimidated when making this recipe because I LOVE flan and I really wanted it to turn out. I made this for my girlfriends and they loved it! They couldn't believe that I made this myself. You will not be disappointed. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraPDX

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennewick, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
I had tried the Spanish Flan on this site, and while I thought that was lovely, it was NOTHING compared to the texture of this one! I omitted the orange stuff and left it traditional vanilla way. Instead of the whole milk, cornstarch, and heavy cream, I just used a can of evaporated milk. Obviously, it is the 3 eggs and two egg yolks that makes this one have a divine texture! I definitely recommend it, even the simple way with just a can of evaporated milk, one can of condensed milk, vanilla, and the eggs blended and cooked just as directed here! Excellent! This is my flan recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by invierno_eterno

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
This is a very nice recipe. Made it exactly as written and it came together perfectly. The next time I make this flan I will us about 1/4c less sugar in the caramel sauce because as another poster experienced too, not all the sugar liquefied during the bake. I don't know how big a flan pan is, and I didn't think all of the mixture would go into any of my pie pans, so I used one of my 9" cake pans. Seems to work out pretty good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Royall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Keaau, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Made this for a mexican themed grad party. A big hit. Didn't change a thing. Pie plates work well instead of a flan pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
My husband is from Nicaragua and his dad makes this awesome flan and I used this recipe and my husband loved it! I dont think I am going to put the orange juice in next time as the orange was overkill and why we didnt give it 5 stars, and this makes 2 flans not just one if you use the Pampered Chef Flan pan, but I will definitely make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by superwoman8977

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA
Living In: Beech Grove, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
This flan is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
I have never made flan and I have never really liked it but since it was Cinco De Mayo I decided to give it a try. I followed the recipe exactly although I don't usually like to add whole milk or heavy cream to anything I cook. It was delicious. I guess I had gotten used to crummy restaurant flan where they use gelatin. This was much more like Creme Brulee...which I love. Now that I know what it should taste like, I may try adapting it to make it lighter (i.e. using fat free condensed milk and/or fat free sweetened condensed milk).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanish Flan

This creamy flan custard will become everyone's favorite dessert.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States