Flan Mexicano (Mexican Flan) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Very tasty, it was gone the day I made it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
I almost rated this with one star. I wanted to try this flan because of the orange juice added on and because it didnt need cream cheese which is part of the recipe my puertorican family uses. The only change I made on this recipe was adding coconut flakes. My husband could not wait to try it so we tried one of the two flans only after leaving it in the fridge for one hour. Not a good idea. I left the second one in there for two days and what a difference. The reason why I didnt like the first one was because of the strong orange flavor; the mixture of flavors did not sit well with me, although my husband loved it. The second one had a much better texture and the orange flavor was more subtle which for me made it very good. I didnt find it to be too sweet and could not taste egg at all. I would definitively make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
This was my first attempt at Flan, it was also my first time eating flan. Whenever I have seen it at a restaurant I was never tempted to try it. But the other day my son was asking about flan and if it was good or not so I figured the best way to find out was to make it. I had to make this 2x. The first time I tried to make these in mini spring-form pans. Really bad idea they leaked all into the water bath and just made a big yucky mess. So I tried it again the next day. I used 6 6oz ramekins and baked for 40 minutes. This was fun to make. And surprisingly easy. I expected it to be more complicated. The texture was silky and smooth. Lovely flavor with just a hint of orange to it. Really fantastic and now I know that Flan is fabulous. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
This was amazing. Took it to work for a taco potluck and it was the bomb! Everyone wanted the recipe. I doubled the orange zest but otherwise did the recipe. It is fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Several folks have had trouble getting all the sugar to caramelize - an easy fix is to use Baker's Sugar... it's a superfine granulated sugar (not powdered sugar) that is made for just such an application. C&H makes it; I don't know if it's available all over the country, but look for it in the sugar section of the supermarket.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by azdon

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
Fantastic. I had flan when I was in Mexico on holidays but this beats them all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
I was a little intimidated when making this recipe because I LOVE flan and I really wanted it to turn out. I made this for my girlfriends and they loved it! They couldn't believe that I made this myself. You will not be disappointed. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraPDX

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennewick, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
I had tried the Spanish Flan on this site, and while I thought that was lovely, it was NOTHING compared to the texture of this one! I omitted the orange stuff and left it traditional vanilla way. Instead of the whole milk, cornstarch, and heavy cream, I just used a can of evaporated milk. Obviously, it is the 3 eggs and two egg yolks that makes this one have a divine texture! I definitely recommend it, even the simple way with just a can of evaporated milk, one can of condensed milk, vanilla, and the eggs blended and cooked just as directed here! Excellent! This is my flan recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by invierno_eterno

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
This is a very nice recipe. Made it exactly as written and it came together perfectly. The next time I make this flan I will us about 1/4c less sugar in the caramel sauce because as another poster experienced too, not all the sugar liquefied during the bake. I don't know how big a flan pan is, and I didn't think all of the mixture would go into any of my pie pans, so I used one of my 9" cake pans. Seems to work out pretty good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Royall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Keaau, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Made this for a mexican themed grad party. A big hit. Didn't change a thing. Pie plates work well instead of a flan pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanish Flan

This creamy flan custard will become everyone's favorite dessert.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States