Flan Mexicano (Mexican Flan) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
Made this for a party of 8. Several (who know their flan) raved "best ever." I omitted the orange juice and zest, substituting more milk to maintain the proportions. Cooked 40 minutes in individual glass ramekins. Perfect consistency. Really a fabulous dessert. Might try the orange next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Made it without adding any orange juice or orange peel and it came out perfect. Everyone loved it, it had plenty of caramel to go over top and was a smash hit. Highly recommended you try this, it is easy and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
For those having trouble with the sugar/carmel, What you can do instead is use the pan that your going to pour the mixture in make your carmel in the oven at 350 degrees for about 30 to 35 minutes. This works great and it's easy. No stirring just when it starts to liquify get on the oven gloves and roll it around and it works amazing. It's ready to go as soon as it cools in your flan or baking dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Really turned out great! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
This is the first recipe I have ever rated but i had to come on here and say just how amazing this recipe is. This resulted in the best flan I have ever tasted (and that is saying a lot). I didn't use orange flavoring at all so it was just vanilla flavored. It came out so creamy and perfectly textured. Will definitely be making again....a LOT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
This was my first time making flan, and I have to say, I was pleased with the results. I also omitted the orange juice and peel. A word of caution-please be careful melting the sugar. I have second degree burns on my hand from some falling off my spoon as I poured it into my pan. I also used a pie pan and it worked very well. It was good the first night, and even better the next day! I will most certainly make this again, giving much respect to the "edible napalm" during the sugar cooking process. Lesson learned!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlliCat28

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Delicious! Took someone's advice and sub'ed a can of evap. milk for the orange juice and orange peel and it works great! I used to never like flan but this recipe has most definitely changed my mind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Very tasty, it was gone the day I made it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
I almost rated this with one star. I wanted to try this flan because of the orange juice added on and because it didnt need cream cheese which is part of the recipe my puertorican family uses. The only change I made on this recipe was adding coconut flakes. My husband could not wait to try it so we tried one of the two flans only after leaving it in the fridge for one hour. Not a good idea. I left the second one in there for two days and what a difference. The reason why I didnt like the first one was because of the strong orange flavor; the mixture of flavors did not sit well with me, although my husband loved it. The second one had a much better texture and the orange flavor was more subtle which for me made it very good. I didnt find it to be too sweet and could not taste egg at all. I would definitively make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
This was my first attempt at Flan, it was also my first time eating flan. Whenever I have seen it at a restaurant I was never tempted to try it. But the other day my son was asking about flan and if it was good or not so I figured the best way to find out was to make it. I had to make this 2x. The first time I tried to make these in mini spring-form pans. Really bad idea they leaked all into the water bath and just made a big yucky mess. So I tried it again the next day. I used 6 6oz ramekins and baked for 40 minutes. This was fun to make. And surprisingly easy. I expected it to be more complicated. The texture was silky and smooth. Lovely flavor with just a hint of orange to it. Really fantastic and now I know that Flan is fabulous. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanish Flan

This creamy flan custard will become everyone's favorite dessert.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States