Flan Mexicano (Mexican Flan) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 5, 2013
We enjoyed this today for Cinco de Mayo! I chose to leave out the orange juice and orange zest and make it plain this time. It was very good and the next time I may add the orange additions and use a bit of whipped cream and chocolate sauce like the restaurants do. This was my first time making one of my favorite desserts! A word of warning...use a wooden spoon to stir the melted sugar. I didn't think it through and used one of my favorite hard plastic cooking spoons and melted 1/2 of it in the process. I had to remake the caramel sauce before finishing the recipe! Lesson learned. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
Way too dense and sweet for our family, will try a different recipe next time. We like a light custard so this would be fine for those that like a heavier style.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
I am a first timer to making Flan. I did no use the orange juice or orange peel, It turned out wonderful. My husband loved it and he has tried the best Miami has to offer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
This is almost the exact recipe that I've had from years ago in my favorite Mexican cookbook. I love the fact that it uses cream and condensed milk---it's really rich. Next to my recipe, it's one of THE best flans I've ever eaten. REALLY rich!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
This recipe was amazing. The second time I made it I used heavy cream as I was out of milk and it was even better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bow Island, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Sylmar, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Made this for New Years Eve. It was delish and so easy to make. It's just as good as any Flan I've had in a restaurant. I made it without the orange juice or orange peel, used 2% milk and used 3/4 cup of sugar-which was more than enough. Family recipes are the best! Thanks so much for sharing this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
This was outstanding! I used all the ingredients but omitted the orange juice, orange peel and cornstarch. I used evaporated milk in place of the orange juice and I put the pie plate(didn't have flan mold) in the roasting pan without the damp towel. My mom and brother are big fans of flan and said that this was the best they ever had. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I have made this flan several times and everybody loves it. The first time I made it I went straight by the recipe. I now leave out the corn starch and orange juice. I substitute the orange juice liquid for whole milk. Instead of vanilla extract, I have used real vanilla bean. I scrap the pods and steep in some of the whole milk then let the milk cool. This adds a very complex layer of flavor. This flan will be served after Christmas dinner instead the usual favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nonie126

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
this recipe is awesome! i just baked it last night and i can't seem to stop getting more slices! I'm going to experiment with it next time though.. gonna try the evaporated milk substitution for the heavy cream to see if it will make the flan more settled and put less vanilla extract on it. other than that, im gonna keep on making this delectable recipe again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
great! creamy and silky. I used light cream and an extra tsp. of cornstarch and it set just fine. Note that if you do not add boiling water to the pan and use hot tap water instead, you may have to cook this a little longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 11-20 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanish Flan

This creamy flan custard will become everyone's favorite dessert.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States