Flan Mexicano (Mexican Flan) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2010
This was delicious! Left out the orange zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
This was a phenomenal recipe! It was easy to fix and it came out looking picture perfect. It is important to allow the time (4 hours) for it to sit, though. My husband wasn't sure he liked the orange flavor, but I loved it and all the people at the dinner we served it at raved about it...they are still raving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
This flan was delicious but it did not set up. I might not have baked it long enough or perhaps it was because I overlooked the step of adding the heavy cream to the mixture and just pulsing. I added all to the blender at once,I also used a bundt cake pan to bake this. I don't know if any of these steps I took made a difference but the taste is amazing. My texture was ore custard that flan. (baked in bain marie)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
To me the density and consistency of this flan was perfect. I've since modified it to use only 2/3c. sugar for the caramel since not all the caramel liquified in baking using the full cup. I also use whole evaporated milk and leave out the cornstarch. If I'm choosing not to use the orange juice, I sub in milk. This has become my husband's most requested dessert. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
Neither I nor my family has ever tried this type of flan before, and although we finished it off, we've decided we don't like it because it was too rich, too sweet, and too custardy for our tastes. However, to be fair, I gave it 5 stars because the recipe and instructions were step-by-step, and because the texture, the appearance and the orange flavor turned out the way it was supposed to (according to the description and other reviews). A word of caution: this is not the recipe to try in a removeable-bottom flan pan, since the water from the water-bath seeped into the removable bottom of the pan, creating a bit of a mess with the caramel-sugar layer. (Of course, I should've realized this beforehand. Duuuh!) All-in-all, though, this was a nice recipe, and at least we can say we tried it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Katy
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
Wow! Thanks Tigerlily402! This was delicious! The orange flavor was pretty distinct and we enjoyed it. But next time, we might just try it plain. I followed the recipe as best I could: I did not have a flan mold, so I used a deep-dish pie pan. And I didn't have a roasting pan, so I improvised with a deep skillet. Not ideal, but it worked! Mmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
This recipe is amazing. I made it for a party, and I was asked by no less than 5 people for the recipe! The texture I thought was outstanding, and the flavor, while sweet, is great in small portions. My only criticism is that the custard did not set with 1 hour of cooktime on 350F; I found that increasing the temp to 375F or increasing the time to 75-80 minutes worked for me. Might be just my stove, but I've seen similar notes on other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kesih

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Riner, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
I swapped a few things, but will stick to my new recipe from now on: subbed whole milk for evaporated milk and reduced it to 3/4 C, then omitted all orange stuff, and added 1/2 C coconut milk. Also toasted my own coconut and put it on the syrup before putting flan in dish. Followed same blending instructions, and it is SOO creamy and delicious with a touch of coconut flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melissa
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
I made this today and it turned out perfectly! Instead of one flan pan I used a decorative muffin pan that has six muffins and this made individual flans. (I had a bit leftover and out it in a small pie pan.) I omitted the orange juice and orange peel (don't care for orange flavor) and also omitted the whole milk and instead used 1 whole can of evaporated milk. Everything else I followed exactly as the recipe stated and the taste is amazing! It was a huge hit for my family, also. My husband said it is better than the flan in the local Mexican restaurant. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Liberty, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
A dependable, easy recipe that yields an exotic dessert. I've made this flan five times in the last two weeks, because friends have tasted it and requested that I make one for their cake sale or Mexican-themed dinner party. My recipe tweaks: - Whisk the eggs and egg yolks together before adding, or the gelatinous whites will separate from the pudding mixture. - A Tablespoon of grated orange rind is way too much! I've taken it down to about 3/4 teaspoon and acheived the fragrance without an overwhelming orange flavor. - You really do have to refridgerate it for four hours, or the flan will not turn out of the pan easily and neatly. Of course, eating my mistakes is what keeps me such a fat and happy cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spanish Flan

This creamy flan custard will become everyone's favorite dessert.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States