Flan Mexicano (Mexican Flan) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 17, 2011
I have never made flan and I have never really liked it but since it was Cinco De Mayo I decided to give it a try. I followed the recipe exactly although I don't usually like to add whole milk or heavy cream to anything I cook. It was delicious. I guess I had gotten used to crummy restaurant flan where they use gelatin. This was much more like Creme Brulee...which I love. Now that I know what it should taste like, I may try adapting it to make it lighter (i.e. using fat free condensed milk and/or fat free sweetened condensed milk).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
I've never had flan before and decided to try something new and it tasted great! To make this slightly healthy, I used 1% milk and fat free condensed milk instead of the full fat versions and the consistency was similar to cheesecake. I will definitely make this again but I would use less sugar in making the syrup as I think 1 cup make too much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
I liked the orange flavor and will use it in a recipe that I have used for years with more success. I have never seen cornstarch in any other flan recipe. Mine came out more like plain egg custard (admittedly it had a lovely orange flavor). Also, my recipe calls for a little water in the sugar to make the caramel. My sugar was nearly burned before it was fully disolved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Garrett

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Great reseta. I made this three days ago and it tastes just like my mothers flan (and maybe a little healthier). I did add about 1/3 of an 8 oz bar of cream cheese and it tasted amazing. Highly recommend this recipe and I will definitely keep it in my normal cooking rotation : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
We loved it without the orange zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
This was too eggy for me. It was like eating sweetened quiche. And how do you melt sugar without it getting higher than 240 degrees (at which point it will be crunchy when it cools)? I would add 2/3 c. water to the sugar to make a syrup, then heat it to light amber color. I tried heating just the sugar, since the reviews were all saying it works perfectly, and I had little sugar rocks at the bottom of my custard dishes. Had to clean them out and start over. Ended up using my tried and true caramel sauce recipe of sugar, corn syrup, butter, and heavy cream. Or you could just heat sweetened condensed milk until it browns into caramel sauce. Anything is better than hard candy on flan :/ And I would maybe try it with two egg yolks, or even only one. Not sure what else you would have to adjust to keep the consistency right (because the consistency was great) but you can just taste the egg too strongly. Oh and I left out the orange zest
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Soooo good! We just ran out of it yesterday and everyone is already wanting more. My first time making flan. The strong orange flavor was not expected, but it was really delicious. The texture was out of this world. Also, don't have a flan pan so used 13 x 9 x 2 glass pan. Didn't have a double boiler set up for this so I took a chance and placed a dish towel on a cookie sheet and placed the dish of flan on top. I stuck it in the oven and then ladled water onto the cookie sheet/towel until the towel was soaked good n water was ready to overlfow cookie sheet. Sounds a little strange, but it did the job and worked well. Please b sure to soak the towel really well and check often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Costa Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
3/4 de sucre serait suffisant
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
This is the first time I made flan, and it came out wonderful! I omitted the orange juice and subbed milk instead. I made do with a 9in cake pan and a stainless steel skillet for cooking. Hint for next time- dont overcook the sugar :) Will absolutely be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by serioussifl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
This recipe was PERFECT! I followed it exactly, and my flan came out silky smooth and beautiful! It was so delicious, my family couldn't stop raving! It did need about 20 extra minutes in the oven, but WOW! Fantastic texture and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by courtneyamazing

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Spanish Flan

This creamy flan custard will become everyone's favorite dessert.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States