Flan Mexicano (Mexican Flan) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
awesome. simple & a crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
This was really tasty and easy. The orange flavor was lovely. When I cooked this, I must've overdone the caramel sauce, as the layer on the very bottom of the pan hardened (and then cracked when I poured in the custard filling!). But there was still sauce left, and it was very good. When taking out of the dish it seemed "chunky" and had cracked in one place, but was silky smooth once you ate it. I sliced into squares with thread to make serving easy at a potluck. I did this in a glass deep dish pie and had a bit left over - enough for two small ramekins worth; the ramekins overcooked and puffed up (then dropped) like a souffle... which still tasted good, but had a weird texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
You're having trouble with carnelizing because the sugar from mexico is not refined white sugar its a brownish sugar (not brown sugar) just brownish (azucar moreno) this sugar melts and caramelizes quite easily. Some supermarkets in the US are selling this type of sugar now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
VERY good. Not exactly the same texture as traditional flan due to the addition of pumpkin. It's to be expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Note: I used 2% milk and half and half cream and it still turned out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I've made this at least a dozen times now, and regularly get requests to bring it for get-togethers. This is by far the best best best flan recipe I have ever tried! It's better than my Puerto Rican mother-in-law's sssssshhhhhh. Depending on the pan, I've had to adjust the cook time between 45 minutes to an hour and fifteen minutes. Amazon flanera pans work marvelously for this one. Remember to always rely on the toothpick test; If the toothpick comes out wet from the center, just pop it back in the oven for another 15 minutes and check again...Although one episode of (undercooked) flan pudding went over incredibly well too. You cannot go wrong with this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KC Daddio

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Great recipe! Changes were evaporated milk instead of whole milk, omitted orange products & substituted 1/4 c of Bailey's coffee creamer, omitted cornstarch and added 1/4 tsp of coconut flavoring. Used a deep cake pan and it worked fine. This is a versatile recipe--I didn't have the orange products on hand, so I improvised. Family loved it. Will try it at some point with the orange.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
Great recipe. I agree with others that a bit of water in the sugar helps it melt easier. The second time I made it I substituted lemon juice and grated lemon peel. Liked the lemon version better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lombard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
We enjoyed this today for Cinco de Mayo! I chose to leave out the orange juice and orange zest and make it plain this time. It was very good and the next time I may add the orange additions and use a bit of whipped cream and chocolate sauce like the restaurants do. This was my first time making one of my favorite desserts! A word of warning...use a wooden spoon to stir the melted sugar. I didn't think it through and used one of my favorite hard plastic cooking spoons and melted 1/2 of it in the process. I had to remake the caramel sauce before finishing the recipe! Lesson learned. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
Way too dense and sweet for our family, will try a different recipe next time. We like a light custard so this would be fine for those that like a heavier style.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spanish Flan

This creamy flan custard will become everyone's favorite dessert.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States