Flan II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 10, 2006
I don't understand the poor ratings that this recipe has been given! This flan is great. It's definitely not the over-dense, over-syrupy-sweet American flan, this is real, fabulous flan. It's sweet without being overpowering, and holds together tightly without being dense. It's light and beautiful when it's done! Definitely party-worthy. I did make some changes: (1)Doubled the recipe and used 8 eggs (didn't differentiate between whites and whole eggs). (2) Added 2 t. of vanilla. (3) Put it in two large ceramic dishes. (4) Added 1 c. of heavy cream (1/2 c., if you didn't double the recipe). It turned out absolutely marvelous! I'll definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef W

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
Excellent...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
This is the mangiest flan recipe ever. Try Creamy Caramel Flan instead. It's not traditional but it is way better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2005
It was easy to make and used covenient ingredients but it wasn't very good. It tastes very strongly of eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2005
This is easy to make and tastes great. Instead of melting sugar, though, which i didn't like, you can use maple syrup too. I tried that the second time i made this and I thought it was better than the time I used sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FRIENDLYFOOD
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
An excellent flan recipe. Easy to make with all ingredients you probably already have in the kitchen. Make exactly according to "preparation" directions and it comes out perfect. However I did "tweak" the recipe a tad. So I will demerit 1 star. I Added 1 teaspoon of vanilla and 1 cup of half and half in place of one cup milk for a richer flavor. Very delcious. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2005
Fast and awesome. What more can one expect? Thank you, I truly enjoyed this flan. I remember when my nana used to beat the egg yolks for hours and cook the milk for hours too...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2005
Im off of school 4 a week, and i thought i'd cook somthing and i found this recipe. i liked it, it tasted good and wasnt to hard to make. though the martha stewart custard flan was better. and wasnt to hard to make either, and im only 14.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
This is a fantastic recipe! Thanks for sharing it, Bobby. I've found that 6 minutes in the microwave leaves my milk at the perfect temperature with zero fuss, just in time to pour the sugar (which seems to work best when added to an already hot pot with a thimblefull of water).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
I admit it, I'm a Flan Fan. The recipe has potential and definitely need a tsp of vanilla. If you make it in one big pan, I think it needs to cook longer, 40 minutes can give you a soggy mess. This is good, not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mattawan, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

Spanish Flan

This creamy flan custard will become everyone's favorite dessert.

How to Make Coconut Flan

See how to put a tropical twist on traditional flan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States