Flan II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
this recipe is the best flan recipe i have found i added vanilla but thats it and it was a big hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by healthnuthikers

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Carrollton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
This was great it tasted soooo nice i prepared it for my family and they loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
Loved the custard, but did not do well with the melted sugar, no one complained about the melted sugar tried to make it three times came out with hard crack candy (immediately) when I poured it into the ramkins, so just went to the maple syrup and put a little brown sugar and all was fine. Will make again with the brown sugar and maple syrup, that is why I gave it a four.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
Beautiful and easy! I was also looking for a recipe that didn't require evaporated or condensed milk, and this got a resounding thumbs-up from the whole family. I added a bit of cream to my nonfat milk, and a dash of vanilla (I'm sure it would taste fine without). Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saratoga, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
I have never had custard before, but I will say that this was pretty good! I love the caramel!! Thanks for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
Pretty good considering how easy it is. I like it as a base recipe you can dress up however you like. I added a tsp of vanilla, some orange zest and subbed in 1/2 a cup of sweetened condensed milk for a 1/2 cup of the reg. milk, turned out great! My mom suggested a bit of rum next time. But my friend Leah's suggestion of Grand Marnier sounded really yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carla925

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pleasanton, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carrie
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
I loved this recipe! My finished product still had some crystalized sugar left in the bottom of my custard cups, but it might be the way I melted my sugar. Next time, I do think I will add a bit of water to the "caramel" and a little vanilla extract to the custard to give it a bit more richness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Wayne, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
So easy and so perfect! I wanted to make flan to go with a Mexican dinner, but didn't have condensed or evaporated milk, (which most of the flan recipes call for). I followed the recipe (adding NO vanilla) and both my husband and I thought the caramel flavoring was all it needed. I had no problem melting the sugar. Just remember to use only medium heat so it doesn't cook too fast. Thanks for a great, simple flan recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2006
This is a great recipe! The custard is so smooth, and the caramel tastes great. This recipe is also known as Creme Caramel. The only problem was that boiling the sugar didn't work out well, so I put in the same amount of water to sugar. This made the sugar turn golden and syrupy, which worked great. Also, I added 1/4 teaspoon vanilla to the custard. I would definitly use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
Easy and delicious, but the recipe should've included a flavoring measurement, which is why I gave it 4 stars instead of 5. I was definitely glad that I added about 1/2 tsp. vanilla otherwise it would've been quite bland. I didn't notice any excessive "egginess" that some other reviewers mentioned. It IS a custard, after all, so you have to expect a bit of egg flavor! As an FYI for folks trying to save calories, I used 1 3/4 C. skim milk and 1/4 C. half-n-half (that's what happened to be in my fridge), and it still set up just fine and had a lovely silky texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warroad, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

Spanish Flan

This creamy flan custard will become everyone's favorite dessert.

How to Make Coconut Flan

See how to put a tropical twist on traditional flan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States