Flan II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 12, 2008
This dessert was a flop. I made it for guests and the egg seemed curdled in the dishes. The consistency wasn't smooth at all, and when I attempted to flip them out of their cup-cake shaped dishes, they fell apart and made a big mess. Also, the original amount of sugar called for in the caramelizing step is too little for the amount of flan mixture that is made. There needs to be about double the amount of caramel to suit the amount of flan mixture. The taste was ok, but a little too eggy. The texture was worse. Next time I'll follow a recipe that uses condensed milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcmeg12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Helsinki, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
With ingredients that are normally found in our house, this recipe is a keeper. I used 4 eggs so I wouldn't waste any yolk and it came out just fine. Thanks for recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
Flan for the purist. I made it exactly as described. Creamy texture, just the right amount of sweetness -- and because it called for very basic ingredients I could make it with what items I normally have on hand. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NANANELIZ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
My whole family loved this recipe! I used skim milk and it still tasted rich and sweet. I also used vanilla and rum extracts, as someone else suggested, and baked it for 45 minutes, using the 6-serving option. It set up perfectly and unmolded beautifully. I will use this low-fat recipe often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
I have tried this a few of times, the sugar that is melted and put in the cups hardens immediatly (God help you if you spill it COS IT STICKS AND BURNS!!!) My husband thinks the the sugar is bitter(tried both white and brown) so tried maple syrup wasn't alot better. So think will put sugar on top and put in grill for couple of minutes until carmalized as a creme brulee really should be done. Other then that change it is quite nice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cdnshaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
not for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
This flan came out very good. The consistency was nice and light and tasted great. I did add a little vanilla and a slightly generous amount of rum, lol. The caramel, unfortunately, did not turn out very good. I'm assuming I burnt it a little. It's not horrible, but it definitely has that burnt flavor to it and some of it hardened in all my custard cups (which was kind of hard to clean up :P). So you might want to have the custard mixture ready to pour in right after the caramel is in the cups? I think next time I might try that maple syrup/brown sugar thing I saw mentioned, or just be careful not to cook it too long if I experiment with the sugar caramel again. Definitely would make this again. Also, this is probably not for those that think of flan as very sweet and rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jade1026

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
this recipe is the best flan recipe i have found i added vanilla but thats it and it was a big hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by healthnuthikers

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Carrollton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
This was great it tasted soooo nice i prepared it for my family and they loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
Loved the custard, but did not do well with the melted sugar, no one complained about the melted sugar tried to make it three times came out with hard crack candy (immediately) when I poured it into the ramkins, so just went to the maple syrup and put a little brown sugar and all was fine. Will make again with the brown sugar and maple syrup, that is why I gave it a four.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

Spanish Flan

This creamy flan custard will become everyone's favorite dessert.

How to Make Coconut Flan

See how to put a tropical twist on traditional flan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States