Flan II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by ? allyson ?
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
This is a very good, simple recipe. It also helped to have the step by step instructions about how to prepare the pan with water etc. I followed the recipe exactly except for adding a teaspoon of vanilla extract and it turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ? allyson ?

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
Didn't care for it much. I've made plenty of flans before (I'm puertorican, this is a staple dessert down there) and this one is so-so. Adding hot milk to eggs is not such a great idea either. You have to be really careful or you'll end up cooking the eggs with the hot milk. Caramel is the easiest thing to do. Use the microwave!!! Add some water to the sugar in a glass container and heat it up in high for a few minutes (until you see it turn that beautiful amber color). Have done it countless times that way, believe me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Photo by fondukes
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
I wonder why people had such a hard time with this one. It worked fine for me, and I even used mostly 2% milk. I had a TINY bit of evaporated milk left over from making sweet potato pie, so I used some of that as well. I also added 1/2 tsp vanilla extract. I did have a hard time melting the sugar, it started to burn before it was melted so I had to throw it away and start over, adding a little bit of water like I usually do. The only thing I would do different next time is to mix it better, it came out really ugly. Everything else is fine. I think I will use this one from now on so I don't have to buy condensed and evaporated milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fondukes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
I'm a Cuban America. My family has a long tradition of making flans, bread puddings, and Spanish custards... Avoid this recipe. The amount of eggs is not sufficient for the custard to set. I tried making this recipe because I'm no longer in South Florida and flans are difficult to come by where I attend college. I was attracted to the resourcefulness of recipe, no special ingredients only whole milk, eggs, and sugar... this will not work. You're better off using condensed and evaporated milk. Sadly, I wasted 4 whole eggs, two cups of milk and sugar...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Diana Moutsopoulos
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
This was absolutely gorgeous. I was wondering if it might need vanilla, but it totally did not. Wonderful as is! (I used goat milk b/c I am allergic to cow milk -- that's the only thing I did differently. I'm sure cow milk would be just as good.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Moutsopoulos

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2009
I've never made flan before, because the caramel part was a little daunting. I made this (with fresh goat milk, even!) and it was as delicate and sumptuous as could be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheesemite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coldwater, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2009
I used this recipe as the base for a leek quiche, without the sugar, of course. What a great custard!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy and Ruth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
Very easy to make. Everyone loved it. The only problem I had was the carmal stuck to the bottom of the cooking dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Busymantis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
I personally had my doubts being a sweetened condenced milk user. However i was out and needed some flan for dessert so I gave this a try. I found it works out GREAT! The 2 changes I made were to add butter to the melting sugar, 1 cup sugar to 1 Tbls butter. This helps it to not turn hard immediately. Second I traded 1/2 the milk for heavy cream. It turned out better then my usual kind. This is out new "Family and Party Favorite"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catareen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelbyville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
Good and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larry G Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

Spanish Flan

This creamy flan custard will become everyone's favorite dessert.

How to Make Coconut Flan

See how to put a tropical twist on traditional flan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States