Flan II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
I'm a Cuban America. My family has a long tradition of making flans, bread puddings, and Spanish custards... Avoid this recipe. The amount of eggs is not sufficient for the custard to set. I tried making this recipe because I'm no longer in South Florida and flans are difficult to come by where I attend college. I was attracted to the resourcefulness of recipe, no special ingredients only whole milk, eggs, and sugar... this will not work. You're better off using condensed and evaporated milk. Sadly, I wasted 4 whole eggs, two cups of milk and sugar...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Diana Moutsopoulos
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
This was absolutely gorgeous. I was wondering if it might need vanilla, but it totally did not. Wonderful as is! (I used goat milk b/c I am allergic to cow milk -- that's the only thing I did differently. I'm sure cow milk would be just as good.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Moutsopoulos

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2009
I've never made flan before, because the caramel part was a little daunting. I made this (with fresh goat milk, even!) and it was as delicate and sumptuous as could be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheesemite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coldwater, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2009
I used this recipe as the base for a leek quiche, without the sugar, of course. What a great custard!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy and Ruth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
Very easy to make. Everyone loved it. The only problem I had was the carmal stuck to the bottom of the cooking dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Busymantis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
I personally had my doubts being a sweetened condenced milk user. However i was out and needed some flan for dessert so I gave this a try. I found it works out GREAT! The 2 changes I made were to add butter to the melting sugar, 1 cup sugar to 1 Tbls butter. This helps it to not turn hard immediately. Second I traded 1/2 the milk for heavy cream. It turned out better then my usual kind. This is out new "Family and Party Favorite"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catareen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelbyville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
Good and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larry G Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
I love that you can make this with what you have, when your in the mood for something sweet. I just would personaly add some more sugar to sweeten it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catalina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Augusta, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
First try: as written. Found it rather thin. 2nd try, used half whole milk, and half heavy whipping cream. Increased eggs to 2 whole eggs, 3 egg yolks. I used 1 tsp vanilla per recipe. I think it could actually stand another egg yolk. Added the heavy cream at the end and just blended it in so it wouldn't whip or turn to butter. After much reading about the caramelized sugar, I agree that it should *NOT* be stirred at all. IOW, you don't set the pan on the burner and stir until it's melted. I used a small saucepan and shifted the sugar around by moving the pan, over medium heat. When it started melting, I turned the burner (gas) up on high and moved the pan around above the flame. When it turned the color of amber (no darker or it will burn), I poured it into the pan and had enough time to swirl it around before it hardened. Warming the dish first also gives you time to swirl it. I let it cool to the touch before putting in the custard mix. I made 2 recipes for guests: one with sugar and caramel, one with Splenda (less than called for) and sugar-free marmalade in the dish so it would be on top when flipped. No appreciable difference in taste between sugared custard and Splenda. I used 1.5 qt Pyrex dishes to bake; took about 1.5 hours. It curdled sligthly at the bottom and around the edges but was set and creamy in the middle, and really delicious. Several experts pronounced it superior to the recipes made with sweetened condensed milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
We call this recipe Creme Caramel and it is indeed the easiest dessert to make, i always add vanilla to offset the "egginess" of the custard, alternatively you can use a small amount of orange essence and a bit of grated orange rind to give it a different flavour. But anyway you look at it, this is delicious and easy to prepare and cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bendigo, Victoria, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

Spanish Flan

This creamy flan custard will become everyone's favorite dessert.

How to Make Coconut Flan

See how to put a tropical twist on traditional flan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States