Flan II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
Very easy to make & it tasted great! It is a lighter version of the flan my mom used to make. I added 2 tsp of vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Great recipe. I added some vanilla essence and served with fresh berries. The one lesson I learnt was to not stir the sugar while caramelizing - it will crystalize. Had to toss my first batch of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chicbunny
Reviewed: May 29, 2010
Perfection, a great dessert for those who don't like a whole lot of sugar in their dessert. For me the hardest part was working with the caramelized sugar. At first I decided to microwave it with just a bit of water but it burned too quickly. I ended up making the caramel on the stove and it turned out fine. Work with it quickly because the caramel hardens fast! I'll probably make it again and again because it doesn't require too many ingredients and overall the recipe is very simple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Nice texture. Impressive presentation for my guests! Nice that this recipe has few ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by transplanted Texan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
Thank you for posting a recipe that doesn't require sweetened condensed milk! This recipe was quick, easy, and really delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber (and Morgan) Weimer

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2010
Easy and delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Halo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holmen, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
I made it today. Perfect! Finally, an authentic recipe that starts with fresh milk and eggs! Tasty, easy, wonderful! Make sure you use whole milk and large or extra large eggs. Constant stirring at every step until you put it in the ramekins is important to keep it from burning or lumping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
Delicious and not too sweet. I chose this recipe because I didn't have any sweetened condensed milk on hand. I used 1/2 milk and 1/2 cream, and 3 egg yolks + 1 whole egg. I had a few bubbles in it, but it was still a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by badbin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
I used cage free brown eggs (which have a thicker yolk) and I also used 1/2 and 1/2 rather thn mile so that may have had something to do with it but this was so creamy the texture was great! Also, I've never used a wet towel in the bottom of the pan, I didn't have any bubbles in my flan! I should add that using white sugar for the carmilzing is a must. I used organic cane juice sugar, which is silghtly brownish and more coarse than white sugar it burned badly. I will use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ? allyson ?
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
This is a very good, simple recipe. It also helped to have the step by step instructions about how to prepare the pan with water etc. I followed the recipe exactly except for adding a teaspoon of vanilla extract and it turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ? allyson ?

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

Spanish Flan

This creamy flan custard will become everyone's favorite dessert.

How to Make Coconut Flan

See how to put a tropical twist on traditional flan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States