Flan II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
this came out wonderfully, i was able to use basic ingredients and 2% milk. You can get away with even less sugar. I think traditionalists miss the richness of crema and other canned goods. But for a quick easy light dessert its good. If your just making it for family you can skip the water bath and it just won't be as pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
I left this in for twice the time indicated and it still never set. I'm not sure what went wrong but it just didn't work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
I have never fixed a Flan before, this was easy to fix and tasted great. My son loved it so much that he came home at ate 2 helpings after school. This is going to be one I fix again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wanda D May

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
While it may not be authentic, amazing flan, you cannot find an easier recipe! I had company over for a Mexican-themed dinner and realized I didn't have any dessert prepared. It was a risk trusting a recipe that didn't call for any of the usual dairy fats, but this worked very well and came out deliciously. ADD A TEASPOON OF VANILLA EXTRACT. That's my only tweak. Really, it's good for what it is! Caveat - It's a great recipe if you don't have the ingredients to use a different recipe. If you have more time to think ahead or are thoughtful enough to keep things like condensed/evaporated milk or heavy cream around, use a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Legally Aud

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
This was an easy recipe and it looked great when I turned it out. I doubled the recipe and added orange zest, juice and a little almond extract to put a twist on it, but even so we all thought it was bland. It needs to be a bit sweeter and I possible may have had the sugar a little too dark. I might try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blossom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sarona, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
This was so delicious! I did follow a couple of other reviews and added 1/2 tsp. vanilla, and used 1 cup of cream and 1 cup milk, since I was using 1% milk... This was such a treat and will make it again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Light. I did use 2% milk with a little less than a full can of evaporated milk. Beat the eggs whole. Added some vanilla cognac (Navan) but didn't taste it much. Made a dulche de leche sauce from AR and used that instead of the caramelized sugar. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This flan was super easy. came out without a hitch. and the flavor was excellent, very creamy! good presentation too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the petite chef

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
This was a nice alternative to a traditional flan recipe. Not quite as rich and creamy, but certainly tasty! However, did make a couple of changes. First, I have a bottle of caramel syrup from a Cuban market in Florida and used that instead of cooking the sugar. The syrup is perfect for flan, and very simple. For the custard, I used one extra egg yolk and added a teaspoon of vanilla after reading reviews here. I only had 2% milk, and also added about 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg. The flan was quite good, came out of the ramekins easily and had set up nicely. I plan on keeping this recipe for whenever I want to make flan but don't have the usual ingredients on hand. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Madison, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
This was AWESOME!!! I was so glad it used regular milk..... I only made two changes. I added a little bit of vanilla and I served it with that carmel sauce made for ice cream. it got all melty and was SOOOOO good : d Perfect, easy dessert for Cinco De Mayo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lynnwood, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

Spanish Flan

This creamy flan custard will become everyone's favorite dessert.

How to Make Coconut Flan

See how to put a tropical twist on traditional flan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States