Flan II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
This was an easy recipe and it looked great when I turned it out. I doubled the recipe and added orange zest, juice and a little almond extract to put a twist on it, but even so we all thought it was bland. It needs to be a bit sweeter and I possible may have had the sugar a little too dark. I might try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blossom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sarona, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
This was so delicious! I did follow a couple of other reviews and added 1/2 tsp. vanilla, and used 1 cup of cream and 1 cup milk, since I was using 1% milk... This was such a treat and will make it again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Light. I did use 2% milk with a little less than a full can of evaporated milk. Beat the eggs whole. Added some vanilla cognac (Navan) but didn't taste it much. Made a dulche de leche sauce from AR and used that instead of the caramelized sugar. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This flan was super easy. came out without a hitch. and the flavor was excellent, very creamy! good presentation too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the petite chef

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
This was a nice alternative to a traditional flan recipe. Not quite as rich and creamy, but certainly tasty! However, did make a couple of changes. First, I have a bottle of caramel syrup from a Cuban market in Florida and used that instead of cooking the sugar. The syrup is perfect for flan, and very simple. For the custard, I used one extra egg yolk and added a teaspoon of vanilla after reading reviews here. I only had 2% milk, and also added about 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg. The flan was quite good, came out of the ramekins easily and had set up nicely. I plan on keeping this recipe for whenever I want to make flan but don't have the usual ingredients on hand. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Madison, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
This was AWESOME!!! I was so glad it used regular milk..... I only made two changes. I added a little bit of vanilla and I served it with that carmel sauce made for ice cream. it got all melty and was SOOOOO good : d Perfect, easy dessert for Cinco De Mayo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lynnwood, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
very good i also added a little vanilla.and i would cut the cooking time to 30 min. but extremely good!better than my father in laws and he is mexican.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
I made this for my dad who is a flan fan and he loved it just as much as what he gets at the restaurant. Will def make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
Very easy to make & it tasted great! It is a lighter version of the flan my mom used to make. I added 2 tsp of vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Great recipe. I added some vanilla essence and served with fresh berries. The one lesson I learnt was to not stir the sugar while caramelizing - it will crystalize. Had to toss my first batch of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

Spanish Flan

This creamy flan custard will become everyone's favorite dessert.

How to Make Coconut Flan

See how to put a tropical twist on traditional flan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States