Flan II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
I have never fixed a Flan before, this was easy to fix and tasted great. My son loved it so much that he came home at ate 2 helpings after school. This is going to be one I fix again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wanda D May

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
While it may not be authentic, amazing flan, you cannot find an easier recipe! I had company over for a Mexican-themed dinner and realized I didn't have any dessert prepared. It was a risk trusting a recipe that didn't call for any of the usual dairy fats, but this worked very well and came out deliciously. ADD A TEASPOON OF VANILLA EXTRACT. That's my only tweak. Really, it's good for what it is! Caveat - It's a great recipe if you don't have the ingredients to use a different recipe. If you have more time to think ahead or are thoughtful enough to keep things like condensed/evaporated milk or heavy cream around, use a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Legally Aud

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
This was an easy recipe and it looked great when I turned it out. I doubled the recipe and added orange zest, juice and a little almond extract to put a twist on it, but even so we all thought it was bland. It needs to be a bit sweeter and I possible may have had the sugar a little too dark. I might try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blossom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sarona, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
This was so delicious! I did follow a couple of other reviews and added 1/2 tsp. vanilla, and used 1 cup of cream and 1 cup milk, since I was using 1% milk... This was such a treat and will make it again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Light. I did use 2% milk with a little less than a full can of evaporated milk. Beat the eggs whole. Added some vanilla cognac (Navan) but didn't taste it much. Made a dulche de leche sauce from AR and used that instead of the caramelized sugar. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This flan was super easy. came out without a hitch. and the flavor was excellent, very creamy! good presentation too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the petite chef

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
This was a nice alternative to a traditional flan recipe. Not quite as rich and creamy, but certainly tasty! However, did make a couple of changes. First, I have a bottle of caramel syrup from a Cuban market in Florida and used that instead of cooking the sugar. The syrup is perfect for flan, and very simple. For the custard, I used one extra egg yolk and added a teaspoon of vanilla after reading reviews here. I only had 2% milk, and also added about 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg. The flan was quite good, came out of the ramekins easily and had set up nicely. I plan on keeping this recipe for whenever I want to make flan but don't have the usual ingredients on hand. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Madison, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
This was AWESOME!!! I was so glad it used regular milk..... I only made two changes. I added a little bit of vanilla and I served it with that carmel sauce made for ice cream. it got all melty and was SOOOOO good : d Perfect, easy dessert for Cinco De Mayo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lynnwood, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
very good i also added a little vanilla.and i would cut the cooking time to 30 min. but extremely good!better than my father in laws and he is mexican.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
I made this for my dad who is a flan fan and he loved it just as much as what he gets at the restaurant. Will def make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

Spanish Flan

This creamy flan custard will become everyone's favorite dessert.

How to Make Coconut Flan

See how to put a tropical twist on traditional flan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States