Flan II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
THANK YOU!!! I spent over an hour combing the internet looking for a milk-only custard/flan recipe. All the others have evaporated milk, sweetened condensed milk, and/or heavy cream -- none of which I have on hand today. My craving for my mother's baked custard has been satisfied! I substitued 2 tablespoons of Kahlua for equal amount reduced from milk, per another recipe found here on AllRecipes. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zen Jewess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Excellent flan recipe. I always cut back the sugar in the recipes but other than that I love the egg pudding-like texture of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
This was awesome! I didn't have custard cups so I did the flans in two glass pie pans. I just did two recipes of the sugar topping and put one in each pan. Be careful not to overcook the sugar... I did in one of them and it came off with a wee bit of a burnt flavor to it. The only thing about doing big ones is that you have to be super careful taking them out of the pan. One of mine fell to pieces... but the family still devoured it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murchison, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
This will be my third time making it this year, it is AWESOME!!!! Followed the recipe given and it turns out better and better each time!! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
I love flan and mine didn't turn out as well as I hoped. Next time, I will use someone else's idea of using maple syrup. I think it will be easier and will have the same taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamatika

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
I didn't like it , nothing was wrong was the texture , but the taste ..it tasted like egg with a layer of caramel ..my mom used to make flan for me using only milk , sugar and eggs but it tasted much better than this one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monjfr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
this came out wonderfully, i was able to use basic ingredients and 2% milk. You can get away with even less sugar. I think traditionalists miss the richness of crema and other canned goods. But for a quick easy light dessert its good. If your just making it for family you can skip the water bath and it just won't be as pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
I left this in for twice the time indicated and it still never set. I'm not sure what went wrong but it just didn't work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
I have never fixed a Flan before, this was easy to fix and tasted great. My son loved it so much that he came home at ate 2 helpings after school. This is going to be one I fix again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wanda D May

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
While it may not be authentic, amazing flan, you cannot find an easier recipe! I had company over for a Mexican-themed dinner and realized I didn't have any dessert prepared. It was a risk trusting a recipe that didn't call for any of the usual dairy fats, but this worked very well and came out deliciously. ADD A TEASPOON OF VANILLA EXTRACT. That's my only tweak. Really, it's good for what it is! Caveat - It's a great recipe if you don't have the ingredients to use a different recipe. If you have more time to think ahead or are thoughtful enough to keep things like condensed/evaporated milk or heavy cream around, use a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Legally Aud

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

Spanish Flan

This creamy flan custard will become everyone's favorite dessert.

How to Make Coconut Flan

See how to put a tropical twist on traditional flan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States