Flan II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Turned out great. Hubby & father-in-law devored it. This was one of the few flan recipes I could find w/o sweetened condensed milk, which I didn't have and didn't want to go to the store. We had lots of half-n-half, so I used that for the "milk."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
This is a beautiful flan with a great texture - smooth and creamy, but firm enough to cut with a spoon. I added a tsp of good quality vanilla, but it wasn't necessary, if you prefer the sweet eggy flavor. For ease of preparation, I heated the milk in the sauce pan with the caramel residue, which dissolves the caramelized sugar into the milk, adding to the custard's flavor. This recipe is a keeper. By the way, if you're going to bake the cups in an aluminum pan, you should sprinkle a little cream of tartar into the water (NOT the flan) to keep the inside of the pan from oxidizing (turning dark).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Wow this awesome flan. It is just like how my mother's taste. I used brown sugar instead and used a little bit less sugar and also strained the liquid after adding the egg so no cooked egg would be there. The taste was amazing too, not too sweet but not too dull and really smooth. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marchbunny
Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Really liked it. Per the reviews and what I had in my kitchen I tweaked the recipe. Replaced: white sugar for organic brown sugar. Added: 1/2 cup non-fat greek yoghurt, 1 tbs chia seeds, and 1 tbs starbucks hot chocolate mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
This recipe is fantastic! I add a teaspoon of vanilla and I use skim milk. So good! Makes me look like a real pro. Just one thing about the baking time, I leave it in the oven for an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
I give this 5 stars for the flavor and texture, although I messed up and tried to make a large flan instead of individuals. It didn't unmold too well. Next time I'll do individuals for sure, but this is as good as any flan I've ever eaten in Mexico, maybe better than most.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jo-in-mexico

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
I followed other reviewers' suggestions and just used 4 whole eggs for this, along with half whipping cream/half milk, and a 1/2 tsp of vanilla. Superb! I am so happy to find this recipe that doesn't use canned milk. The texture and flavor was much better than another recipe I tried before. It was so smooth and creamy. Did have an eggy flavor, but that's to be expected. Thanks so much for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
I also added vanilla, turned out great. Its not as rich as other recipes but still good. I strained the milk and egg mixture through a metal strainer before baking,as i would recommend with any flan, it makes it much smoother.You'd be surprised how many little egg chunkies you get out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: May 9, 2012
SMOOTH & CREAMY! This was my first time making flan and it was so easy. Perfect instructions! I used 2% milk by mistake but couldn't have had better results. I will use it next time too! Thank you Bobby Kleinveld for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Photo by sanzoe
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
This was a really good and creamy flan recipe. The directions are spot on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanzoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

Spanish Flan

This creamy flan custard will become everyone's favorite dessert.

How to Make Coconut Flan

See how to put a tropical twist on traditional flan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States