Flan I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Tra72
Reviewed: May 2, 2010
This has to be the easiest and yummiest flan I've ever made or had! I mixed the egg mixture with a stick blender and the end result was a beautifully creamy flan. It even converted my non-lovin flan daughter into a fan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tra72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I tried this last week. I love flan, but I'd never made one before. It was delicious, but not as fluffy as I had hoped. Maybe I should beat the egg mixture longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
Firstly Flan doesn't originately come from Mexico. It's actually Spanish from Spain, look it up. In Latin America, flan is popular, and many local versions exist, including the Flan napolitano from Mexico, flan de coco from Costa Rica and the widespread flan de leche, often eaten with cream. If you really want the true tasty check "Creamy Caramel Flan" recipe sorry JessicaDez but your recipe is too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
This was a bit more egg-y than I was looking for. I'm going to try some of the other recipes that call for more milk, less egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Mathews

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
I should have read the instructions more carefully with the sugar. I wasn't stirring as much as it said to. The sugar came out a bit bitter. How ever my kids loved it. So I guess it ended well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by csib424

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Made this one last night. I am from Panama and my mother used to make her flan like this, but she would add a "splash" of rum (or any liquor for that matter) to get rid of the "egg-y" taste. I didn't do that and though it was nice, it did have that eggy flavor to it. I still think it was very nice. After cooling last night, it was still hard to serve. But today, it's just the perfect texture and very easy to slice and serve!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marissa's Mommy
Home Town: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
This tastes like scrambled eggs with simple syrup poured over it. I followed the directions to the letter and it was nothing like I have had in restaurants. I was very disappointed. I will try another flan recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slr814

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
this flan was absolutely awesome, i did it for my mexican husband and he loved it, even his family ate it all i'll definetely do it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Castelforte, Lazio, Italy
Living In: Lawndale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
Just like my grandmother use to make. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
It was good, and a basic recipe for flan. Although I will say I'm Puerto Rican, and this recipe or Flan in itself is not native to Mexico, but Spain, therefore all or most Latin people have flan as a native food. I've been eating it since I was a baby, and the rest of my family from past generations, it is a very easy, commong, and good dessert. Can't go wrong with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen Adorno

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Caguas, Caguas, Puerto Rico
Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

How to Make Coconut Flan

See how to put a tropical twist on traditional flan.

Spanish Flan

This creamy flan custard will become everyone's favorite dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States