Flan I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
I made this for my Spanish II class party. I personally do not like flan, however, I got several reviews on how good this was. Before making flan, I would advise reading the how-to on the mexican recipes main page. It had many tips, like don't stir the sugar and to add a drop or two of lemon juice to it. Also, it had more detailed instructions on how to make a proper water bath for the flan. One woman, who lived in peru for 10 years, said that she usually flips her flan over right after it cools, then she chills it like that. That way a lot less of the caramel sticks to the pan. These tips made for a nice flan which was also moderately easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2003
I have this same recipe from a cuban cookbook -- it's FANTASTIC and genuine. It cuts well, yet is creamy. One of a kind experience! One hint for those who have a problem with it (such as the person who found it crumbly) -- switch the steps in the recipe. First caramelize the sugar and pour into the pan, then allow it to cool -- that way the eggs will not curdle upon being poured into the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
This recipe was awesome! I cooked it for about ten minutes less than the recipe called for. I used cream cheese in it. It was crazy good. It was very easy too. I just didn't know how to get the crunchy glaze out of the pan. I guess hot water would release it. I also wasn't sure whether to cover it or not, I didn't cover it. My husband took it to work to true Mexicans. I shouldn't have been nervous about it, they loved it. I will make it over and over again. Fabulous!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2001
This was the easiest dessert I have ever made. I was a little confused about the wet towel so I placed the pan of flan inside a larger pan and filled the larger pan until it was at the half mark of the smaller flan pan. Tasted excellent and I received many compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2005
Help. The caramalized sugar turned rock hard very quickly. I baked it in the oven in hopes it would turn liquid again but no luck. I notice this is a problem in some reviews so there must be a trick in working the sugar? I love flan and will try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Gillaspie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thomasville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2002
I have tried flan on several occassions and have not been too crazy about it. This recipe is awesome!!! My kids loved it.We used the cream cheese version and my oldest daughter compared it to cheesecake. This recipe is worth making. Very little prep time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2003
Growing up in a mexican family everyone is so picky about traditional mexican dishes. I made this last night and it came out delicious, next time I'm going to try it with the cream cheese. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2005
Me and my grandma tried this recipe and we had no complaints about it!! I found out about flan last year and have been using Jell-o's instant flan until we found this recipe. If u havn't tried this recipe, TRY IT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2002
This was the BEST Flan recipe! I loved it and my entire family loved it! They keep asking me to make it for them again and again. And it is so simple! Thank yoU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
This tastes like scrambled eggs with simple syrup poured over it. I followed the directions to the letter and it was nothing like I have had in restaurants. I was very disappointed. I will try another flan recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slr814

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

How to Make Coconut Flan

See how to put a tropical twist on traditional flan.

Spanish Flan

This creamy flan custard will become everyone's favorite dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States