Flan de Coco (Coconut Flan) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by DaDoubleJs
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
Excellent recipe. This recipe can be made with less eggs--4 or 5 can also do and you can leave out the 1/2 cup of sugar if you don't want it too sweet. Otherwise, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaDoubleJs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
I can honestly say this recipe was so easy to prepare! I made it for the first time for dessert on Thanksgiving and in no more than 5 mins it was gone. Lol! It really is delicious and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
Two "firsts" on one day (yesterday)- cracking a coconut AND making flan! A great success - a great recipe. I read and followed some other's notes: used canned coconut milk in place of evap. milk, used half heavy cream and half 2% milk for the 1/2 cup of milk, added about 1 tsp Mexican vanilla and about 3/4 tsp coconut extract (only because I happened to have some). I sprinkled about 1 T. of the finely shredded coconut over the top before baking (next time I'll try toasting it first). I did bake in a water bath to ensure even cooking, and perfectly done in 45 min., as per the recipe. Another good trick, as someone suggested, is to place your empty baking dish in the oven to warm up good before you pour in the caramel - it coats smoothly and beautifully with no effort!! I'm sure it would come out just as wonderful using the evap. milk. The most difficult part is WAITING to eat it! (No one waited 9 hours....and now it's ALL GONE!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monrovia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
I used a can of lite coconut milk instead of the evaporated milk, and did not add sugar to the custard. This turned out amazing! A huge hit at work :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AELAINA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
Overall, the flavor and texture of this recipe were excellent. I made it for a luncheon at work, and it was very popular. This was my first time making flan, and it took me a good 30 minutes to get the sugar melted and get everything assembled. I had some clumps of sugar that did not want to incorporate into the caramel sauce, and I was afraid of overcooking it, so I gently broke them up with a fork and they melted right in. I substituted coconut milk for the 1/2 cup of regular milk, and added 1 tsp. of Mexican vanilla. Next time I will probably leave out the 1/2 cup of sugar. A useful bit of information would be the proper size of the baking dish. I used a 2.5 quart 8" diameter Corningware dish, and I think it was too small. I had to bake it an extra 20 minutes to get the flan to set. I think the extra cooking time caused some problems with the caramel. When I turned it out the next morning, there was still a lot of the caramel stuck to the bottom of the dish, and it was hard like candy. Fortunately, there was just enough liquid caramel to salvage the flan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
My mil (mother-in-law) LOVES flan...she has been known to order two, when we've gone for mexican. She loves this version. I didn't have a lot of luck with the sugar syrup the first couple of times I made it, so...the name of the game is improvisation! Maple syrup or carmel latte syrup. Pour into the bottom of the pan before you pour in the coconut egg mixture! When you invert the flan, if you don't end up with enough glaze, just pour a little more over the top, and everybody's happy! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHICK4URBAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
was never a fan of flan until i made this! this is soooo good. I subbed in a can of coconut milk and used fresh shredded coconut that i toasted in the toaster oven before putting in the flan. This is so good! Everyone who tried it loved it. It's rich creamy and delicious! Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CooksW/Love

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murrieta, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
Made this to take for dessert at a dinner party. Used a springform pan. Delicious. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Very good. I liked that it had a mix of evaporated and sweetened condensed milks. I did not add sugar to the egg mixture, agreeing that the caramel sauce would add enough sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
This is the 3rd flan I've made but it's the only one that impressed my 86 year old father-in-law from Puerto Rico. The family absolutely loved it. Others have suggested baking it in a bath which I'll try next time because I left some of the caramel in the dish when I turned it out. Other than that, the dish was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Coconut Flan

See how to put a tropical twist on traditional flan.

Coconut Buffalo Chip Cookies

Chocolate cookies with corn flakes, chocolate chips, coconut flakes and raisins.

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States