Flan de Coco (Coconut Flan) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Great Flan! My husband is Cuban and he says it's JUST like his mom makes ; ) I made a couple small modifications as well: I don't add the 1/2 cup sugar nor the 1/2 cup milk to the custard mix and I use only 5 eggs. Straining the mix through a fine mesh before baking makes the texture MUCH nicer......yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luka'sMum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
YUM! I made this for my Dad's B-day and everyone keeps asking me to make it again! This recipe is very similar to traditional family recipes I have tried before, but the coconut took it to another level. Since other reviews indicated that the coconut taste was mild I decided to use one cup of shredded coconut in in addition to substituting the evaporated milk for coconut milk. I also added a teaspoon of almond extract and did not use the 1/2 cup of sugar in the mix. It turned out great and was very surprised at how easy it wast to make! Will def make again. One tip, I melted the sugar in a nonstick pot and it took way too long to brown (35 min), I will use a metal pot next time as recommended in other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
This was good but not terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
Left out the additional 1/2 cup of sugar as others did. I thought it was sweet enough without it. I took advise from others who have made flan and warmed up my dish in an oven while it was preheating so that the carmel wouldn't harden too quickly. Worked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
Even with replacing the evaporated milk with coconut milk, the taste of coconut was very subtle. However this recipe deserves 5 stars because this was the best flan I've ever tasted. I had never made flan before, so I followed other reviews and used a water bath and made sure not to over-cook the sugar. UPDATE: I made this again using cream of coconut instead of evaporated milk and frozen shredded coconut and it was so good! Much more pronounced coconut flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
Delicious, and easy for a first-time flan maker...both the flan and caramel came out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
The only reason I didn't give it 5 starts is I'm not sure what a flan should taste like! However, I really enjoyed this recipe. Something I learned from other flan recipes is to turn finished flan onto serving plate; I had no idea you were supposed to do that as this recipe assumes you know. Very tasty though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
Yum! Very sweet! Have a glass of milk with you :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
Outstanding!!! This was my first time making flan and this recipe was excellent. I only used 5 eggs and omitted the sugar in the condensed milk mixture. I also added a teaspoon of coconut flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
This is the best flan I have ever made. be sure not to brown the sugar too much because some of the bottom will stick to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

How to Make Coconut Flan

See how to put a tropical twist on traditional flan.

Coconut Buffalo Chip Cookies

Chocolate cookies with corn flakes, chocolate chips, coconut flakes and raisins.

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States