Flan de Coco (Coconut Flan) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
I added coconut extract because I was leaving out the shredded coconut. Brought to a party and left with an empty dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
Que Rico!! Very, Very Good. The only thing I did not add to the flan was the 1/2 cup of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carmensita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sunny Isles Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
I never really liked flan until I tried this recipe. I also exchange the evaporated milk for coconut milk. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey Hamlin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Downey, California, USA
Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
First time making Flan fun, making Flan the first time for others to enjoy, nerve racking! Smiles on guest faces and compliments... Priceless! I read through the reviews first. I'm glad I did. Adding the 1/2c sugar to the custard would have been way too much! As is was the flan was quite sweet. When I made the caramel I had started the oven and put the pan that the flan was going to be assembled in on the oven vent to get hot. When the sugar was melted to the color I wanted, I poured it into the hot pan and tipped it to evenly spread the mixture and set aside to cool. I made two versions of the flan. One with condensed milk and evaporated milk for a plain flan and topped it with some dark chocolate peels and a raspberry sauce. Flan 2, I used the condensed milk and coconut milk, with the shredded coconut in the mix and then topped it with toasted coconut peels. Several people asked for the recipes and couldn't believe I've never made flan before! Had to admit that I was so nervous when it was time to turn the flan out onto the serving plates with so many people watching! I thought for sure the caramel was going to stick to the pan!! But all the Oooo's and Ahaaaa's said it all though! Thanks for a great recipe to work with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Royall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Keaau, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2010
I didn't add sugar to custard since I used sweetened coconut. Very tasty! Be careful not to over cook or else the texture is like hard gelatin. I had lots of caramel linger in pan though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
Very yummy and easy flan. Everyone who had it, instantly loved it. I did however make a very small change to the recipe. I substituted the 1/2 cup milk with its equivelant of heavy cream. This made the flan creamier. I also bake my flan in a water bath in the oven. This helps the texture of the flan. Thanks Esther for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dublin, Ohio, USA
Living In: Loughborough, Leicestershire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
This recipe was fantastic! The texture was perfect. I replaced the evaporated milk with a can of coconut milk and still kind of wished it had even more of a coconut flavor, so definitely don't worry about that subsitution being too overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: University Place, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Served this flan to the family after a very spicy dinner of Chile Colorado and 6 of us ate 3/4 of the whole thing and then the kids fought over the last piece - it was delicious! Swapped out the evaporated milk for coconut milk, left the sugar out of the egg mixture, added 1 teaspoon of Mexican vanilla as previous reviewers have suggested. I put 1/4 cup water with the sugar for the caramel mixture - this will help control the sugar browning process. Poured the caramel into a preheated 10" x 1.5" round pyrex dish with straight sides. I cooked the flan in a water bath. Be sure not to use a good dish towel for this as it bled the color out of a good towel. Next time I may try it with out the water bath method as it adds a lot of work. Also I forgot to pre-heat the water for the water bath and this extended the time of cooking to almost 90 minutes! Once cooked I let cool for 15 minutes and then ran a knife around the outside edge. Since we were going to eat dinner in about 2 hours I put the flan in the freezer for about an hour and then moved to the refrigerator. After dinner (about 3 hours after the flan came out of the oven) I put a serving plate over the top of the pyrex dish and then inverted it so the flan came out on top of the serving dish and out of the pyrex. The caramel flowed beautifully over the top and down the sides - it looked perfect. Not only was I surprised how good it all came out, my family was equally impressed and I am now considered Chef Extrordinaire!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tommy T

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
These were reminiscent of the Coconut Flan we had in Costa Rica last year. It turned out very well and was surprisingly easy. I used the coconut milk instead of the evaporated milk as other reviewers suggested. It turned out very smooth and the flavor of coconut was just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
I made this flan for a tropical party we had recently and it came out perfect! I was a little concerned that I had undercooked it but came out wonderful. I didn't change a thing. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Derry, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Coconut Flan

See how to put a tropical twist on traditional flan.

Coconut Buffalo Chip Cookies

Chocolate cookies with corn flakes, chocolate chips, coconut flakes and raisins.

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States