Flan de Coco (Coconut Flan) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
This was my first try out at making a dessert and i am so happy to say it came out quite good!At first i thought it was too sweet and nobody will like it, but the whole thing was gone in a matter of hours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Very nice. I substituted coconut milk because I didn't have evaporated milk on hand. I didn't put any coconut flakes in either. I made this recipe once before and followed it more closely. Both times it has turned out well. There is another recipe for flan on this site I enjoy more though. It adds cream cheese to the mix (which I'm sure you could do here). It is less authentic of course, but very creamy and less eggy in flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rmzhao82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Quite a good recipe; the taste of the coconut flakes is excellent, though beware of burning and clumpiness on the sides and bottom of the dish - I would recommend baking this in a hot water bath just to even out the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
I added coconut extract because I was leaving out the shredded coconut. Brought to a party and left with an empty dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
Que Rico!! Very, Very Good. The only thing I did not add to the flan was the 1/2 cup of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carmensita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sunny Isles Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2010
I never really liked flan until I tried this recipe. I also exchange the evaporated milk for coconut milk. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey Hamlin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Downey, California, USA
Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
First time making Flan fun, making Flan the first time for others to enjoy, nerve racking! Smiles on guest faces and compliments... Priceless! I read through the reviews first. I'm glad I did. Adding the 1/2c sugar to the custard would have been way too much! As is was the flan was quite sweet. When I made the caramel I had started the oven and put the pan that the flan was going to be assembled in on the oven vent to get hot. When the sugar was melted to the color I wanted, I poured it into the hot pan and tipped it to evenly spread the mixture and set aside to cool. I made two versions of the flan. One with condensed milk and evaporated milk for a plain flan and topped it with some dark chocolate peels and a raspberry sauce. Flan 2, I used the condensed milk and coconut milk, with the shredded coconut in the mix and then topped it with toasted coconut peels. Several people asked for the recipes and couldn't believe I've never made flan before! Had to admit that I was so nervous when it was time to turn the flan out onto the serving plates with so many people watching! I thought for sure the caramel was going to stick to the pan!! But all the Oooo's and Ahaaaa's said it all though! Thanks for a great recipe to work with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Royall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Keaau, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2010
I didn't add sugar to custard since I used sweetened coconut. Very tasty! Be careful not to over cook or else the texture is like hard gelatin. I had lots of caramel linger in pan though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
Very yummy and easy flan. Everyone who had it, instantly loved it. I did however make a very small change to the recipe. I substituted the 1/2 cup milk with its equivelant of heavy cream. This made the flan creamier. I also bake my flan in a water bath in the oven. This helps the texture of the flan. Thanks Esther for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dublin, Ohio, USA
Living In: Loughborough, Leicestershire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
This recipe was fantastic! The texture was perfect. I replaced the evaporated milk with a can of coconut milk and still kind of wished it had even more of a coconut flavor, so definitely don't worry about that subsitution being too overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: University Place, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Coconut Flan

See how to put a tropical twist on traditional flan.

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Coconut Buffalo Chip Cookies

Chocolate cookies with corn flakes, chocolate chips, coconut flakes and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States