Flan de Coco (Coconut Flan) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
This is amazing, with a little changes. I used an extra 1/2 cup of milk and used 1%, omitted the sugar for blended ingredients, used blender to mix and threw a handful of almonds because I love nuts! Also 1 tbsp off vanilla, no water bath. Took it to a couple's house for bible study and was a total hit, I immediately got home and had to make another one for the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
I prepared this today and it was lovely. Like many others, I made some changes. I did not add the 1/2 cup of sugar, 1/2 cup of milk, or the 6 eggs (I used 5 large jumbo eggs). I figured since the condensed milk is filled with sugar, adding another 1/2 would over do it. I also added 1 tablespoon of white vanilla extract and added 1 cup of fresh shredded coconut instead of 1/2 cup. Although I did not follow the exact instructions in this recipe, I am still grateful for having found this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Loved it. Only I substitute
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
I added fresh coconut and blended it in the blender…. I also added a little bit of chocolate, cinnamon and Oaxaca cheese for texture…. i really reccomend it!!! Instead of baking it by itself in the oven, you should bake it in another pan of water so it doesn't burn, since i have a small electric oven, that was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
Overall, this was a very good, easy to follow recipe. Everyone who tried it enjoyed it. However it did taste a little bit to "egg" for me. So I think the next time I cook this I would remove a yolk or 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicopee, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I'm in charge of dessert for a girlfriend's weekend so decided to try this out. I'm so glad I did; it totally reminds me of the filling my Mom put in her custard pie. It was always a favorite of my Dad & I. mmmmm, comfort food! I'll be making another one next Thursday in anticipation of our Mexican fiesta dinner on Friday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I had tried to make flan before and maybe it was me, but it didn't turn out as good as this one. This recipe is easy to follow and my flan turned out great. The only change I made was that I used coconut milk, instead of regular milk and I didn't add the shredded coconut. Next time I will.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
simply delicious , i added extra coconut
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Yessenia Kissel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: River Ridge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
I did not use sugar and exchanged the evaporated milk with coconut milk and it taste perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Not good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Coconut Flan

See how to put a tropical twist on traditional flan.

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Coconut Buffalo Chip Cookies

Chocolate cookies with corn flakes, chocolate chips, coconut flakes and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States