Flan de Coco (Coconut Flan) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
This flan is delicious. I prepared it two days ago, but I made a couple changes: Instead of using regular milk, i added one cup evaporated milk and a can of coconut milk and it was great! Advice: Be careful for not over cooking the sugar for the syrup, it may get bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
202 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nurynski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
God, that flan was good!!!! My family loved it!!! Only I substituted the evaporated milk with the same amount of coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
This was so easy to make that I was suspicious. However, I served this to a dinner party of 8 people and it was fantastic. It tasted fabulous and the texture/consistency was perfect. I served with a dollop of whip cream and some fresh quartered oranges and dark chocolate on the side. Even the guests who do not normally like dessert were raving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
I was looking for a recipe to replicate the coconut flan I had while in Costa Rica. This recipe came very close! I didn't do the sugar layer, only the flan itself. Maybe next time, I will do the entire recipe as described. My husband and co-workers all agree this is a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
This was fantastic! I used fat-free sweetened condensed milk and splenda inside the flan while using real sugar for the carmelized part. I baked it in ramekins in a pan of water. The texture was perfection and the taste was wonderful! Even my egg-boycotting daughter loved every bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
When I returned from Costa Rica this year I HAD to find a coco flan recipe. This IS IT!!! So easy and absolutely delicious..This is a girls party favorite!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
I didn't like it but everyone else liked it in the house. It didn't last more than a day! I think it's because I am not a chocolate lover. Be careful when putting the chocolate cake mix on top of the flan. You have to put it on very gentle in order to keep both layers seperated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
This is a good flan recipe. I made this, however my family isn`t flan lover. The texture was creamy and tender. I didn`t add sugar into the milk mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by mommymeggy
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
Very very sweet. Be careful not to overbake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
This is my first time making a flan and I was so happy with the result. All my friends and family were pretty impressed. Thank you for the great recipe, very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Coconut Flan

See how to put a tropical twist on traditional flan.

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Coconut Buffalo Chip Cookies

Chocolate cookies with corn flakes, chocolate chips, coconut flakes and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States