Flan de Coco (Coconut Flan) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
I was looking for a recipe to replicate the coconut flan I had while in Costa Rica. This recipe came very close! I didn't do the sugar layer, only the flan itself. Maybe next time, I will do the entire recipe as described. My husband and co-workers all agree this is a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
This was fantastic! I used fat-free sweetened condensed milk and splenda inside the flan while using real sugar for the carmelized part. I baked it in ramekins in a pan of water. The texture was perfection and the taste was wonderful! Even my egg-boycotting daughter loved every bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
God, that flan was good!!!! My family loved it!!! Only I substituted the evaporated milk with the same amount of coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
This is my first time making a flan and I was so happy with the result. All my friends and family were pretty impressed. Thank you for the great recipe, very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
This was so easy to make that I was suspicious. However, I served this to a dinner party of 8 people and it was fantastic. It tasted fabulous and the texture/consistency was perfect. I served with a dollop of whip cream and some fresh quartered oranges and dark chocolate on the side. Even the guests who do not normally like dessert were raving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Laura
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
This flan is amazing!!! It is definitely one of the best dessert I have ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
This flan is delicious. I prepared it two days ago, but I made a couple changes: Instead of using regular milk, i added one cup evaporated milk and a can of coconut milk and it was great! Advice: Be careful for not over cooking the sugar for the syrup, it may get bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
191 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nurynski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
Super easy recipe! Texture and flavor was amazing. I used sweetened coconut flakes instead of fresh coconut and it tasted just as tropical. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommymeggy
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
Very very sweet. Be careful not to overbake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
This is a good flan recipe. I made this, however my family isn`t flan lover. The texture was creamy and tender. I didn`t add sugar into the milk mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Coconut Flan

See how to put a tropical twist on traditional flan.

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Baked Coconut Shrimp

See how to make crispy, crunchy coconut shrimp in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States