Flan de Coco (Coconut Flan) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
Delicious !! Just like the one I make for years but I do not use the sugar(1 1/2 cups) the sweetened condensed milk and the caramel sauce makes it sweet enough. It can also be made with regular milk. I also usse a water bath to bake it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Unreal. And just got better with age. I know because the leftovers that stayed in the frige for a few days were even better and more beautifully permeated with gorgeous caramel color than when I first served it. I, too, had trouble with the caramel hardening too quickly so I kept microwaving it in short bursts to get it to flow over more of the plate. Turns out this wasn't necessary since the flan is watery enough to liquify that layer to perfection as it sets and it oozes nicely around the entire pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Clemente, California, USA
Living In: Los Feliz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
I tried this recipe and it turned out really good. My only problem was: there was way too much sugar in it. Next time that i will try it, i will probably put less sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
I prepared this flan last night and put it in the refrigerator to set overnight. When I checked on it this morning half of it was already gone. My family just couldn't resist. super easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by etooee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
Very good and very easy flan. I had a bit of trouble with the sugar syrup, but the actual custard came out very nice. The only changes I made was to add a bit of coconut extract to make it extra coconutty and I baked it in a water bath. Came out perfect (except the sugar syrup I overcooked!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
Great recipe! I made this for hubby's squadron luncheon and they raved!!! I made this the first time and it bombed (I have no idea what I did wrong, but I was determined to try again). The caramel/sugar coat hardened too fast so I had to make several sugar batches in order to cover all of the bottom of the glassware. Oh! I almost forgot to mention that I took the advice of someone of this site and added a can of coconut milk to the mix along with everything else since I didn't have shaved coconut on hand. It still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabbage

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Belleville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
I made this for my boyfriend and his family once and it lasted all of a few hours. They eat flan like most people drink water and never have they had coconut in it! Since then I have been asked maybe twenty times in two months to make it again! I would definitely recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
Great recipe, I just added a teaspoon of vanilla. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Estelí, Estelí, Nicaragua
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
When I returned from Costa Rica this year I HAD to find a coco flan recipe. This IS IT!!! So easy and absolutely delicious..This is a girls party favorite!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
Easy, and very yummy! Would make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoJo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Coconut Flan

See how to put a tropical twist on traditional flan.

Coconut Buffalo Chip Cookies

Chocolate cookies with corn flakes, chocolate chips, coconut flakes and raisins.

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States