Flan de Coco (Coconut Flan) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
I added fresh coconut and blended it in the blender…. I also added a little bit of chocolate, cinnamon and Oaxaca cheese for texture…. i really reccomend it!!! Instead of baking it by itself in the oven, you should bake it in another pan of water so it doesn't burn, since i have a small electric oven, that was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
Overall, this was a very good, easy to follow recipe. Everyone who tried it enjoyed it. However it did taste a little bit to "egg" for me. So I think the next time I cook this I would remove a yolk or 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicopee, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I'm in charge of dessert for a girlfriend's weekend so decided to try this out. I'm so glad I did; it totally reminds me of the filling my Mom put in her custard pie. It was always a favorite of my Dad & I. mmmmm, comfort food! I'll be making another one next Thursday in anticipation of our Mexican fiesta dinner on Friday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I had tried to make flan before and maybe it was me, but it didn't turn out as good as this one. This recipe is easy to follow and my flan turned out great. The only change I made was that I used coconut milk, instead of regular milk and I didn't add the shredded coconut. Next time I will.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
simply delicious , i added extra coconut
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Yessenia Kissel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: River Ridge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
I did not use sugar and exchanged the evaporated milk with coconut milk and it taste perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Not good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: May 28, 2012
My favorite coconut flan is the one on this site by Milly Suazo (Coconut Cheese Flan). However, that one calls for cream cheese and I was making a flan for a friend who doesn't care much about cream cheese. So, I decided to give this one a try. I wanted the coconut flavor to be noticeable so I did as many suggested and replaced the evaporated milk with a 14 oz can of lite coconut milk and omitted the extra regular milk. The flan came out good but I wasn't wowed by it. Everyone else seemed to enjoy it a lot. I think the coconut flavor didn't stand out as much as it could have. Also, flans are made in a water bath, please don't skip that step. I've made hundreds of flans over the years and for the last 15 years I have always made the caramel in the microwave. Put the sugar and some water in a Pyrex cup and heat on high for 10-15 minutes until it turns amber. Handle with care. You can use that same caramel to make decorations for the flan. Wait until it starts to harden a bit and drizzle it on top of parchment paper. When it dries up (in a minute or two) you can lift up the decoration and use it to top the flan once you have flipped it and it's ready to be served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: May 6, 2012
I used 1/2c coconut créme coffee creamer, and therefore omitted the extra half cup sugar, milk and coconut. It provided enough coconut flavor, and there was ample sweetness from the condensed milk. I had to drink some milk to wash down all the sweet! The "caramel" was a failure. It didn't taste altogether burned, but it certainly didn't give my flan any flair. I baked in a 9" pie dish, but there was more milk mixture than space in my dish, so I put the remaining extras in a 9"square, and put that in a water bath since it didn't have caramel in the bottom. When I inverted the square, it didn't come out, Duh, so I cut it down the middle, and lay it in a plate with a spatula. The pie plate did invert easily. Between the two, they are okay, but because of the overcooked sugar, i did prefer the square.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Redlands, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
Very easy and pretty tasty. I omitted the extra half cup of sugar and added 1 tsp. vanilla. We did not miss the extra sugar at all. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Coconut Flan

See how to put a tropical twist on traditional flan.

Coconut Buffalo Chip Cookies

Chocolate cookies with corn flakes, chocolate chips, coconut flakes and raisins.

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States